Things Google could tell me, but I’m too lazy to Google

What’s in a poke bowl?

How do I add an accent thingy to the e in poke bowl with my keyboard?

What’s the difference between a Thunderbolt port and a USB-C port?

Why is the Georgia font named Georgia? Was it invented there?

How does fantasy football work?

Was the first college football game really at Rutgers?

What are the key differences between Javascript frameworks? Is node.js really the best, like the developer next to me just said?

Why are Nixon watches named “Nixon”? Is it some kind of reference to the long-gone president?

How many analog watches are sold now vs. fifty years ago?

Is the “new” Palm device that was announced really being made by the same company the “old” Palm was made by?

How often does the average person hear a police/fire siren in New York City?

When you use “Google” as a verb, should the g be lowercase, like “google”?

Log in to write a note
October 16, 2018

Poke is like sushi unwrapped. It’s delicious. I would tell you how to get the tilde, but I can’t figure it out since I’ve moved to iPhone. Wish I had more time to play DM trivia, but I am working. What a fun entry.

October 16, 2018

@e3 Hold down the E key, and options for various accent marks will pop up.

October 16, 2018

@kingofi – thank ya. I try but when I try to slide and select one of them, the menu disappears and gives me regular old e.

October 16, 2018

@e3 Not that you haven’t done this, but… you have to slide your finger up to where the first option appears on that menu, then slide over. And I’ve only discovered this recently, too.

October 16, 2018

@kingofi I don’t think I have. Now in sun check.

é

o.m.g

there you go, DM.

October 17, 2018

@e3 that’s one question solved, thanks!

October 17, 2018

@thediarymaster – two of them. Poké is delicious unwrapped sushi.

October 17, 2018

Raw fish, rice, seaweed squiggles, cream cheese, sometimes salad stuff,

October 17, 2018

When it says “spicy” watch out

October 17, 2018

@e3 thanks!

October 16, 2018

These are the fascinating questions. If you do google them, I hope you’ll post the answers.

October 16, 2018

@gypsywynd I might!

October 16, 2018

Wait… palm pilot is back??

October 16, 2018

@startingover_1 http://nymag.com/intelligencer/2018/10/the-palm-is-back-with-some-help-from-steph-curry.html

Now I had to go google it 🙂

October 16, 2018

Hahahaha! I still have my old one around here somewhere …

October 16, 2018

Poké. It’s easy with a phone.

October 16, 2018

Google should still be an uppercase G, IMO, like Kleenex.

I’m fascinated by the sirens thing. In general, I’m wondering how much noise pollution we experience.

October 16, 2018

Also: I’d imagine the watch industry has been crushed for myriad reasons — cellphones and fitness trackers with time displays, smartphones allowing more flexibility re: time. It’s more of a fashion accessory anymore.

October 16, 2018

@kingofi that’s what mine is, I rarely have to look at it to check the time.

October 16, 2018

I think you’d like the Mystery Hour with James O’Brien podcast

October 16, 2018

@williamthebloody I’ve listened to it, and I do!

October 16, 2018

My list of googel questions are way longer then yours…It looks like some have answered your questions but now the hard part is to remeber the answers.  The think about looking stuff up is that it can be time consuming, especially when you are suppose to be working.

October 16, 2018

@jaythesmartone all so true! and believe me, there’s a longer list in my head, these are just the ones that popped out today 🙂

kat
October 16, 2018

Damn… now I have to google half of these to find out! Lol I am not joking tho

October 17, 2018

@kaliko me too!

October 17, 2018

Every time my daughter asks me a question a don’t know the answer to I think, “Man, I should just google this.” But I don’t. I wing it like parents have been doing since the beginning of time.

Poke bowls are amazing. You’ll love it if you love sushi. Get one ASAP.

October 17, 2018

@queenofegypt I am a sushi fan, and I walk by a poke bowl place every day, I will have to try it.

October 18, 2018

Boy, that last one had me thinking….

October 18, 2018

Hmmm Palm Pilot…

I was a senior in high school when those were popular. I was in an AP biology course where the teacher gave us these to use for a research project on genetics. It was a big deal at the time and only my class got to use them.

These days my 6th grader has an entire computer (Chromebook) that the school checked out to him for the entire year…

October 18, 2018

@alika yes, and there’s a whole entry there on the impact of technology on younger and younger children in school, for sure!

October 19, 2018

Those are the kind of thing I ask Alexa!

 

October 19, 2018

@dlk082244 good idea!