Updates and Favorites

Hello everybody,

There have been some people reporting some disconnects with people on their Favorites list updating their diaries, and the Favorites list actually saying that a diary had been updated. There also was an issue with entries that were initially saved private, then edited and made public, not making the Favorites list update.

I figured out the two reasons for this (one reason, really – they were related), and have changed the code so these things should work right now.

With the current configuration, how you appear in others’ Favorites lists should be like this :

  1. If you add a new public entry, your name will bold.
  2. If you add a new private entry, your name will not bold.
  3. If you edit the most recent entry in your diary, and change the text, your name will bold.
  4. If you change the most recent entry in your diary from private to public, your name will bold.
  5. If you edit or change any entry in your diary other than the latest entry, you will not bold.

I hope that makes more sense than it sounds like – but that is how the logic should work.

The DiaryMaster

Of course, when did logic and computers ever REALLY work together?

Log in to write a note

Hallelujah! Theng-kew!

cool, now when are you going to add the ‘import any diary’ function so I can meld my three into one and free up some server space, hmmmmmmm?

The ‘edit this entry’ option is still pissing me off.Seriously.

ok.on my favorites when people update half the time they aren’t bold.i just wrote my friend a private entry and his diary is comming up updated on my favorites.its confusing me

Um is there anyway you could possibly explain what is going on with TOD? Because I used to LIVE on TOD and now that its not working I’m here, and this is cool too, but I just don’t get why TOD is going whacko and FOD is all grand and happy… :)Kaylyn

i noticed that for diary circles that if i try to go back 30 entries to add one of those it takes me to an error page or im not sure what its called and i wasnt sure if you were aware of that. =) _*Brianne

Woo Hoo! You are the greatest! Am I just looking at the diary wrong or is the different backgrounds that are images no longer their? I can’t seem to locate them, Of course, they may be hiding from me.

Hi there! Just checking in on a few issues I emailed about last week. Haven’t heard anything & am wondering–is the answer “We’re busy and haven’t gotten to it yet,” or is the answer “what email? We didn’t get any email!” In specific, the most pressing quesiton was re: blocking diarists from reading diaries when diarists are private and/or favorites only. Thanks! Keep up the good bug hunting!

please help me! i’ve emailed, but nobody responds. There is someone who has been harassing me in my diary for a long time now, and today was the last straw. They have been using insulting language towards me, making sexual remarks, anything you can think of they do and I dont know how to make them stop. This isnt supposed to be happening, I’m 8 months pregnant and I dont need someone telling

me that I shoudl go whore myself for money! Please please please help me!! i dont know who else to ask. Thank you…I’ve left the notes on my diary this time, I usually just delete them. Please take a look.

i am having trouble blocking users. when i type their name into the box to block them, it says 0 results. and i know they exist. also, when i go to their diary contents page, there is no option for me to block that person. how do i block people?

I just read your update…and just figured I’d let ya know. I could read the note left the by Elvis whatever diarist. Is that supposed to happen? Thought you wanted your notes on private?

thats awesome. thanks

lolz. interesting stuff. thanks dm. u rock! isabel

hey boss, I can read Elvis’ note up there…I thought you only accepted private notes

# 2 doesn’t work. A new private entry bolded my name of Faves.

LOL about Elvis. So did you get my emails about my password problem with my #5568 diary (Kat)? And how long am I going to be suspended for my #70 diary ShadowKat? There is more to that story than you even know. Please respond to my email. Thanks.

I can see a note to you on this diary from Elvis Presley. How did THAT happen?

I still want to know if you like the suggestion I made to you about putting a counter on diary enteries like you do with notes. Also the idea about haveing a box next to each note so if you want to delete it you can and putting a delete putting on the bottom of the page so you can go to it and delete any entry you have a check mark next to.

I also had another thought can you have a place in diary where you can put stuff you want to remember for future use. I mean like a place you can click and that you can add your own things if you know what I mean. One reason I want this is so I can add codes and not have to try to find it on my documents where I put them. Talk to you later.

Hmmm.. that just amazes me that people can leave public notes on your “private only” diary. (The Elvis guy) I digress. Here’s another problem for your brilliant mind to ponder. Diary Circles again. When I go to Book circle and click on “circle by name,” my name appears twice, once for Marvelous Me! which is okay and once for Marvelous Mom, which is my old FOD diary, which I deleted…

… When I click on Marvelous Mom, I get a “cannot be displayed” error, which is fine because it isn’t there and shouldn’t be listed in the first place. When I click on Marvelous Me! it goes to my diary and says “Postings to the Marriage Diary Circle” with no listings because I’m not in the marriage circle, but it SHOULD list all my book entries, which it doesn’t. Something’s amiss! 🙂

P.S. I also just noticed under Book circle by name that under “S” the names go from “So” on the first page to “St” on the second page. I know for sure that Spinster has several entries on the Book Circle, but she’s not there. What happened to the authors between So and St?

P.S. again (Please don’t block me! LOL!) I really miss the Forties Fifties Sixties indexes with most recent entries on one side and readers choice on the other. Just so you know. And thanks for fixing that other Circle thing–looks great now!

Interesting. I can see public notes on your diary.

I’m bold any way you look at it.

Are you ever going to address the issue regarding editing ANY entry? I keep getting error messages each time I try and edit an entry.

Hi…I cant change my DD help please!

I am not sure if this is where I should leave this note, but here goes: I can’t get to my favorites, my notes, or any of the links at the top of the page. I was wondering if this problem has been addressed yet…. Thanks,

I have not seen the “diary favorites” link on the side fo the screen like there used to be for people who have a public favorite’s list. Is it not there anymore, or is everyone I have looked at have a private fave. list?

I’m having trouble with change diary style on my diary. Is there any reason I should be? It would be great if you could send me a note back or an e-mail tellin me if there is something wrong. RayneMystAngel@aol.com is my e-mail RayneMystAngel is my FOD name

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE help me… I’ve written multipul times and I’ve read all of your entries concerning this, but I STILL can’t see the bar across the top that is supposed to have “my diary” “my notes”… etc. in it! What can I do to fix this? PLEASE help me, I haven’t been able to write in almost a month. I don’t want my diary to go away… -Danielle

rie06 says to DiaryMaster:Hey you, Thanks so much for this, I noticed you wrote an entry on my problem, 10/12.. its 10/17 and my entry timeout deleted my loonggg deep and meaningful entry about my shallow teen love life, no biggie… but when will this new feature work on my computer? 🙁

some of my favorites are showing up as having made a new entry, but when I go to their fod, it says I can’t access the page. This is on at least 2 of them. I asked one of my friends about this and she said she didnt make her fod private, so I dont know what the issue could be. then I tried logging off and trying to access it, and it still didnt work.