Warm Thanksgiving Wishes

I know, I know…Thanksgiving was almost a week ago, but a good story sometimes takes some time to tell.

The picture above is of one of the Thanksgiving turkeys – Thanksgiving was not at our house, but at the house of a relative who with her husband are very good cooks, so that is nice. They prepared a very good meal – and had smoked one of the turkeys in advance. One of their adult children thought it a good idea to put the previously-smoked turkey on the grill to warm it up.

Good idea except that turkeys drip a lot grease (even after they are smoked) and grills by their nature have a bunch of open flames inside them. There was a very large fire, luckily contained by the closed grill, and the result was one very black turkey.

There’s a related video of the event, with another guest trying to pull the burning turkey off the grill, and on that video you can clearly hear me saying “he’s going to set his shirt on fire” because his sleeve was plunging into the flames as he tried to fork the turkey onto a platter. He didn’t set his shirt on fire, and all was fine – there were two other turkeys, plenty for the large crowd.

But.

Turned out what I said on the video was foreshadowing 😂

A few hours later, post-dinner, all the guests were chatting pleasantly with full stomachs and I was wandering around, talking to different folks. I wanted to join a conversation with a couple people who were seated next to the table, but there were no chairs – but there was a very solid coffee table that was just right for sitting (I thought). That coffee table also had a couple lit candles on it, which I scooted over so I could sit down.

Cue conversation, but after about half a minute I start to feel heat on my back and figure I was still too close to the candles – so I stood up. At that point, a bunch of things happened – a couple people yelled that I was on fire (I didn’t really hear that!), I felt more heat on my back so put my hand around to feel what was going on, I immediately felt a burn on my finger and at the same time started instinctively (I guess) moving away from the other people and the couch that I was next to.

My brain started to register that the problem was worse than I thought. I’d like to think that “stop, drop, and roll” went through my head as I’d like to think my Boy Scout training served me well – but honestly, I think I was thinking that it was probably just a little scorch and if I could just get away from the other people I could just pat it out. Not good thinking in retrospect.

In the middle of that going through my head, as I was moving across the room – one of the guests approached me quickly from behind (coincidentally, the same guest who had forked the turkey earlier and I had said he was going to set his shirt on fire!). He told me to get down on the ground, and I think my befuddled brain somehow objected and I think I said I was okay (I am not, in retrospect, happy with how well I handled this personal crisis).

Luckily, he disagreed with my disagreement, grabbed me, and threw me (very forcefully) on the floor and flipped me on my back.

That, of course, was the correct course of action.

Several people pulled me back up, and then started to tear my still smoldering shirt off my back. Turns out, I had been in flames basically from my belt to just under my hair – the entire back of the shirt burned out, and I have some burned hair on the back of my head to show for it. Luckily, I was wearing an undershirt also, and that did not ignite – it singed and blackened, but it protected my skin somewhat.

The aftermath – some scorch marks on the host’s rug, loss of one button-down shirt, a set of very minor burns between my shoulder blades which for a few days felt like a sunburn but today are starting to itch quit a lot. Overall, I was extremely lucky that the other guests ignored me and took events into their own hands – it could have been much worse. I told the guy who threw me on the floor that I now owe him a life-debt that I will have to figure out how to repay.

On the plus side, the twenty-some people who were there all went home with a good story to tell. “Yeah your Thanksgiving sounds interesting, but nobody set themselves on fire!” and so on. I think maybe one of the life lessons from this is – flameless candles, check them out.

I am extremely thankful that nobody else was hurt, or any houses burned down, due to my stupidity. So I guess this turned into a Thanksgiving entry after all!

Log in to write a note
December 3, 2019

Holy cow, that is one interesting Thanksgiving! Glad you’re okay, though.

December 3, 2019

@queenofegypt thanks!

December 3, 2019

Well, thats definitely one for the books! Glad all are okay! A bit sad by the loss of a good bird and button-down shirt!

December 3, 2019

@glitterampwings actually, once the skin was pulled of the turkey, some of it was able to be salvaged – I didn’t eat it, but I imagine it had a smoky flavor 🙂

December 3, 2019

LOL – oh gosh I laughed so hard at that picture!!! It’s a great way to start the morning!   I’m glad you’re okay. That’s pretty wild that you were actually not aware of how much fire was on you.

December 3, 2019

@thenerve thanks! It will be a story that gets better over time, I’m sure.

kat
December 3, 2019

wow! scary but will be the story to tell each year!

December 3, 2019

@kaliko yes it will be one for the grandchildren, I think 🙂

December 3, 2019

I’m glad you were not hurt! Wow! Excitement abounds eh?

December 3, 2019

@snarkle yes, very exciting for sure!

BJ.
December 3, 2019

You really did have a smokin’ hot Thanksgiving!  Glad you didn’t burn as bad as the bird!

December 3, 2019

@bj hahaha true 🙂

December 3, 2019

WOW!!

December 3, 2019

@bonnierose I know right?

December 3, 2019

Yikes!  Glad to read that your back didn’t end up looking like that poor turkey.   Hope your Christmas holiday is a little quieter.

January 3, 2020

@wren thanks, it was much better by Christmas!

December 3, 2019

The blackened turkey picture was funny.

Setting yourself on fire was not. So glad you weren’t seriously injured.

December 4, 2019

@gypsywynd thanks!

December 3, 2019

Oh, my good heck! You’re dang lucky that guy put you out. On the upside, this is a story that will be one of those family legends.

December 4, 2019

@startingover_1 it will be! My kids already consider me to be kind of a klutz (I’m not!) so this will only make that better 🙂

December 4, 2019

hahahahahaha omgoodness what a most excellent adventure that will set the bar for future Thanksgivings!!  So glad it had a happy ending :))

December 4, 2019

@teamarea I think none of them will live up to this one (hopefully)!

December 4, 2019

You know you’re not living that one down at family gatherings anytime soon, right?

December 4, 2019

@williamthebloody no, definitely not – I will be the subject of jokes for a long time to come!

December 4, 2019

Hoang Long Auto- Truck, Semi Tractor and more
I think this is advertising…..

December 5, 2019

@jaythesmartone thanks! They were deleted and blocked by the staff this morning.

December 9, 2019

Holy Moly!  I’m so glad you are okay.  Isn’t it something that you knew what to do but when it was time to do it it completely escaped your mind.  I don’t burn candles.  I use battery operated candles.  I used to burn candles but one morning I forgot to blow it out and when I arrived home from work it was still lit!  No more after that.  It scared me.  I’m so glad you are okay!

December 9, 2019

@wildrose_2 thanks! It is funny, because I consider myself well-prepared mentally for emergencies, but at least in this case that seems not to be true 🙂

December 10, 2019

Your Thanksgiving beat the hell out of mine!!! Just awkward convo between my mom and mother in law…a fire would have spiced it up! Lol

December 11, 2019

@girl_gone_wild it definitely added an unexpected element 🙂

December 12, 2019

@newtruckdealershipbakersfield
Is another one trying to sell something?

December 12, 2019

@jaythesmartone thanks, they’ve been deleted and blocked!