Why did they put lipstick on Rey

I’m on a plane and watching The Last Jedi over the shoulder of the middle seat person in front of me (with no sound, because the screen for my seat is not working).

There were a lot of complaints about that movie, but I didn’t hate it – although I did find the part of Leia being a space witch and floating back to the busted spaceship a bit hard to swallow.

But, the thing that always jars me when I watch this movie is – why did they make Rey wear full-on makeup? Like, blush, lipstick, brows, etc.? It’s such a different look from what she had in Force Awakens (which was way better). Did she suddenly subscribe to Ipsy in space? It seems like such a simple thing to NOT get wrong as a moviemaker.

Anyway, I generally like the rest of that movie, and I LOVED Force Awakens – an of course, really looking forward to the “last” movie coming shortly. Not that I think Disney will let that be the last Star Wars movie by any stretch, or even the last movie that has anything to do with the Skywalkers – we will see.

We subscribed to Disney+, and one of the things I’ve been doing is rewatching the prequels. Some people think they got a bad rap at the time, and maybe are not actually as bad as we thought they were – but they truly, actually are that bad. And watching them again on better video equipment just makes the CGI look horrible – I still can’t understand why somebody thought filming the climactic battle scene between the droids and the Gungans on the Teletubbies set was a good idea. 😂

Last Jedi just got to the end where Rey moves the boulders and she and Finn are reunited, that part’s pretty good – as is the end of Luke. I didn’t really like how it was done the first time I saw it but on rewatching several times, I think it’s just right.

DiaryMistress and I have it on our bucket list to visit Isle Skellig sometime – we will see if that happens, it’s fairly complicated to get there, being off the shore of a pretty remote part of Ireland, but I think it would be worth the trip. And no, I don’t care to see any Porgs if we go there.

Log in to write a note
December 16, 2019

Did she suddenly subscribe to Ipsy in space? lol. I think the make-up is probably more noticeable because they want a dramatic effect. I haven’t been a fan of the new Star Wars movies but Daisy Ridley is pretty amazing in them.

December 18, 2019

@soldis yes, I think she has been great for that part.

December 16, 2019

I think there were way too many Star wars movies made…..

December 18, 2019

@jaythesmartone I definitely could have lived without the “prequels”!

December 17, 2019

I’m more of a Star Trek fan then a Star Wars fan so I’m not very good at keeping track of the story lines or details. I tend to mix up the movies and forget which are which.😅 I still enjoy watching them though!

December 18, 2019

@hannah_banana0012 that’s okay 🙂 I have all kinds of respect for a ST fan!

December 19, 2019

Oh, I think they ARE done. I can bet you my right eyebrow that they won’t make another SW movie. Maybe if it were up to Lucas alone, but Disney likes to milk its cows as much as said cows will produce, and then put them to pasture. They will not want to make it into the movie version of “Days of Our Lives”, making it into a new gen thing.

I do find myself rewatching what I did as I grew up (particularly the first one) and laughing at the “effects” of the time… and wonder if 10 yrs from now I’ll feel the same about the effects they will be using to bring Carrie back from the grave (practically) for IX. Dang, poor girl – “You died before your contract was over, so, we’re making you work after your death, sorry!”. I wouldn’t have it any other way, though – no way that part could be re-cast.

And I agree on the lipstick – maybe a tad more harshly than you, though, because to me, it makes her look like a clown. Ditto on the end of Luke.

December 27, 2019

@thenerve yes exactly on Carrie Fisher 🙂

December 25, 2019

Thanks for your note….I like to make sure everyone gets at least one laugh while I am trolling…Happy Christmas and Merry Holidays to you are your family….

December 27, 2019

@jaythesmartone Happy Holidays and Merry Christmas to you!

December 27, 2019

stevenchengcn

I think this is info for debt management.

December 29, 2019

@jaythesmartone yes thanks, it’s been deleted!

January 3, 2020

taychipro 
January 3, 2020
I think this guy is trying to get us poor people to buy houses…..

January 3, 2020

@jaythesmartone thanks for letting me know, he has been removed!

January 6, 2020

I liked the Last Jedi but the new move The Rise Of Skywalker was really good.  In that whole line of story it was a good way to wrap things up.   I loved the back and forth between all 3 movies between Kylo and Rey.  Lots of tension and feeling confusion.  Daisy Ridley is good, I hope she doesnt get typecast and we have to see her as Rey the rest of her career.

January 6, 2020

@fortunes_fool_21 I just saw Rise of Skywalker yesterday, and I really liked it! I think it did a great job wrapping up storylines, for the most part.