Perfection

Today is what I would call a perfect day. Sun shining, light breeze, not too hot, not too cold. Lady I just greeted coming in said the same thing.

I was slammed in the face (figuratively) with a bunch of odd jobs so I didn’t get focused and do the work I was planning on, but today is a double day so there is still hope. I just had lunch and now I don’t feel like diving into anything just yet.

Nick is with Kat at her orientation and he is texting me from her phone about all the things that have changed in the high school. I hope he shows her the garbage can. Nick I started dating 8/8/01 the summer right before I started high school and he came with me to orientation and gave me a tour and the most memorable part to me was the garbage can down the art hall. We had seen so many, why point that one out? Of course his favorite story of how we met includes the fact that the first thing I ever I told him it would have been funny if he died. Boy we were weirdos.

She didn’t end up shaving half her head by the way … She went with a “different style” (her words not mine) but I know it’s more like we had discussed. Like a longer pixie cut.

Of course the washer broke down while Nick was washing her outfit for picture day (Because he waited until this morning instead of doing it any time since the weekend *wife nag*) and so she wore one of my shirts which, from the picture she sent me looked pretty cute. Won’t lie, I miss her hair already. Every time it gets long enough for me to do things with she wants it cut. But I do the same thing with my hair.

So first thing this morning a gentleman from pest control comes in and tells me how nice it is to see a woman wearing a dress sometimes. “You don’t see that much anymore.” Something about the way he said it, creeped me out. Maybe it’s because there are plenty of ladies around my building that wear dresses and skirts pretty much daily so I didn’t seem so out of place … Somehow I feel as if : “You look nice in that dress, or I like your dress” would have been a little less … creepy? Perhaps I am just in a mood. Once of my favorite residents today was like “Lace on your socks?! How old are you?!”

“Thirty-two” as I kicked my feet out showing off my mary jane/baby doll sneaker hybrids. “But my birthday is in October” and I stuck my tongue out.

They were the only clean matching socks I had. You can’t wear a nice dress with one long white sock and a short black one. Would have stuck out like a sore thumb. Not that I don’t already. *Tongue comes back out*

He showed her the garbage can! But before he could take a picture they were hearded in another direction. I’m so glad he went with her. I wish I could have been there.

I better get back to work.

 

Log in to write a note
August 21, 2019

Sorry I got it wrong yesterday…I thought she shaved half her head.  Sorry.

It’s raining here so it’s a nice change…Hope it stops soon.

August 21, 2019

As a male, I can tell you that guys like that, they’re probably the type that want things to be how they used to be, in terms of how women behave. The type that think catcalling is a compliment to women. So I agree with your assessment of creepiness.