The Problem with Alarms

I had the same alarm clock for thousands of years. Giant numbers, loud alarm – perfect. I always have a glass of water on my bedside table before bed because I always wake up in the middle of the night with a mouth like a desert. Then one morning, I wake up and my clock is blinking weird symbols and I see my water is knocked over and the clock is soaked.

I tried drying it out a few days in hopes it would work again, but alas, it was dead.

I went out and bought a new one. A fancy one with a USB so I could charge my phone on my side of the bed instead of Nick’s side. Well, that worked for about a day. I’d set it and 10 minutes later it it would go *beep* and reset to noon. I’d set it again. Another 10 minutes. *beep* What the heck?! Reread the instructions about 6 times. I was doing everything right. I started using my phone as an alarm. It’s got a nice loud Coo-coo noise so it’s been working fine. I had received an alarm clock from someone getting rid of theirs, but that one had the same resetting issue – only it wasn’t as often. Every few days or so. I pride myself on being dependable – I cant have an alarm clock that may or may not work. So I used my phone and the junky one combo for awhile until I was just back to my phone.

That leads us to this morning. My alarm is set for 5:30AM and I woke up at 5:29 … I see my phone light up and it makes the slightest *bloop* noise once. No coo coo. I think maybe I hit something. Messed it all up. I check my alerts – full volume. I try a test. *bloop* … okay. I go into settings. My whole phone is setting to full volume. I try another test. *bloop*. What the heck! So when I get off at 4 today I am going back to Target to get the exact alarm clock I used to have for a million years, just like I should have done in the first darn place.

So lucky I happened to wake up at normal time this morning.

I also woke up to a FB message from Katherine’s biological father. A lot to unpack there. “Whaddya know stranger? Where you off to and is Kat going with you?”

First, I never know much at all. Second, why does he think I am going somewhere? Where would I go without my 14 year old daughter? Yeah, I am moving to Zimbabwe but Katherine is going to stay here and live alone. I’m probably reading too much into it. Last time I talked to him was February 2nd. He only usually calls when he needs something. Wants me to do some fool’s errand like call his mom for someones number … like why don’t you call her? Or for money. He always says something like “I would never ask you … blah blah … need X amount of money”

Dunno.

Anyway, I got a stack of things to scan yesterday, and even though I worked a 12 hour shift, I put it off until today so I suppose I should be working on that.

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
June 6, 2019

you are funny…..I am old school too….I like my alarm clocks and everyone says I should use my cell phone but I don’t have one.  I would love to find an alarm clock that has blue numbers.

June 6, 2019

The one I bought with a place to charge was blue, and had a bright/dimmer on it which I thought was going to be awesome. 🙁 @jaythesmartone

June 6, 2019

I have the opposite problem. My phone’s alarm always works perfectly when I need it to. And then I forget to turn it off when I don’t need it, which means I get woken up at OMGo’clock on some other random day.

June 6, 2019

I’ve done that before! @mrroflcopter