Finding Humanity

It is easy to long for what we do not have
It isn’t so easy to long for the things we have had
It has been said that what comes easy isn’t worth the effort
Which isn’t always true

Yet we should learn how to view the world
To see the beauty in things that exist outside of ourselves
That which is not us, and cannot be
And yet, that is perfect

Being fully conscious even when we are tired
Completely aware of our self consciousness and fear
In touch with that which makes us most human
Who are we?
Who am I?

A name, a brain, a heart, a soul
Something more
Some thing more human
Palpable, electric, alive

People tell me that I’m very perceptive
How perceptive of them
And how wonderful that anyone would take time to think about me

How should we learn to be less selfish?
To think of others
Truly love someone else
Live in the moment
Instead of over thinking it

The light of life is in simple pleasures
A song you love to hear
And the voice you love to hear sing it
Paintings, art, nature
Sports, and the elation of victory
And the humanity of the victor embracing his opponent

The way we touch others
With or without our hands
Our words, our hearts
Our minds, our thoughts

There is a purity in words with 4 four letters
Even the power of those less beautiful words
All 4 letters steeped in meaning

When serenity reaches out for us
Teaches us to love
The question becomes
How do we use the lesson
To repay the world for its kindnesses
Its challenges to us
The opportunities we have to rise to the occasion,
Reach for the brass ring
Or simply the opportunity to rise at all

Log in to write a note
April 5, 2013

This is really good. I’d like to post it on my OD page with your permission. If you do grant permission how do I credit you? Copyright &#169 2013 The Left-Handed Poet? Or with your real name?

April 5, 2013

This is really good. I’d like to post it on my OD page with your permission. If you do grant permission how do I credit you? Copyright &#169 2013 The Left-Handed Poet? Or with your real name?

April 5, 2013

This is really good. I’d like to post it on my OD page with your permission. If you do grant permission how do I credit you? Copyright &#169 2013 The Left-Handed Poet? Or with your real name?

April 20, 2013

This is beautifully written the words, the flow hope to read more of you soon:)

April 20, 2013

This is beautifully written the words, the flow hope to read more of you soon:)

April 20, 2013

This is beautifully written the words, the flow hope to read more of you soon:)

January 20, 2014

I have missed your writing. It is a thing unto itself. As always,

January 20, 2014

I have missed your writing. It is a thing unto itself. As always,

January 20, 2014

I have missed your writing. It is a thing unto itself. As always,