Fancy from France :D

Mam, knowing how crazy I was about cats, would always give me random cat things. I suspect she’s been around these pre-Christmas days, as I’ve been suddenly surrounded by cat-happenings.

YESTERDAY: SUPER HAPPY, got my new cat slippers in the mail – ADORABLE!!! 😀

And the guy who actually welcomes he home every day proceeded to inspect the box they came in, of course – as the CRIB (Cat Rules Information Book) dictates. The box passes inspection and J approves of my slippers.

TODAY: Went shopping for Greek yogurt, and, as usual, I’m walking the aisles, talking to Mom, looking like a crazy person talking to an imaginary friend, asking her how many she thinks I should get… I take 8, and at checkout, I see this bag at the cashier’s station, so, of course, I buy it 😍

Finally, about a week ago, I was talking to Mam about how much I missed shopping at Tati (the Parisian version of the American 99 cents store), in Paris. The last time I got something there was after she died & I traveled to take her ashes to be with her Mom, at the Poincaré cemetery (she’d always missed her greatly, and, in last days of morphine stupor, she’d call out for her). Back then, small stores in Paris didn’t ship outside of the country, so, I had no reason to think I’d find anything when I went googling, just out of nostalgia, to see if I found, at least, pictures of the store. WELL, SURPRISE! Now they ship to the US… sooo, I’ve bought this fancy-schmancy yet warm coat, as the cold’s settling in around here:

(That’s not me, it’s Tati’s model). It was only the equivalent of $14 dollars 💖… but I’ll be able to say it was imported from France and look all fancy and expensive. I’ll just say Mam sent it to me from abroad. Gawd I miss her…

 

Log in to write a note

I love your slippers! So cute!! And that coat looks comfy… a dollar store selling clothes? 😮

December 21, 2019

@sweetlittleappletun – Well, it’s not a DOLLAR store… but due to the price level and the way in which they get their merchandise (they sell what’s donated to them, sometimes imperfect, though not evident to the naked eye), this is pretty much the 00-cents store of Paris 🙂  They have everything a typical dollar-store has plus other stuff.

@thenerve Neat. 🙂 I love $$ Stores.

December 21, 2019

The cat slippers are super cute and I love the cat in the box pic!

December 21, 2019

@devildoll – Hehehe, thanks… and that’s the only supurrvisor I’ve had that I like  😛

December 21, 2019

How long ago did your mom pass away? Mine passed away in November.

You sound like you and your mom were very close, and it must be nice to stumble upon things that remind you of her. She’s definitely watching over you.

December 21, 2019

@justamillennial – Gosh, I’m so sorry you’ve lost yours  🙁  HUGS. For me, it’s always yesterday. And it’s not me trying to be dramatic or difficult, that’s just my standard answer. I’m an only child of a single parent… so, every day feels like it just happened. Thanks for your kind words… I hope YOU are also finding some form of comfort in the memories… people tell you to let go with time, but this is one thing where that’s a very stupid piece of advice! <3

December 21, 2019

@thenerve, that must be really hard with a single parent. In my case, I still have my dad, and I’m closer with him than I ever was with my mom. Although there are things that I want my mom there for, that she’s not going to be there for. My boyfriend and his brother are, also, from a single mom household, and when something happens to their mom… they will both be devastated.

December 21, 2019

@justamillennial – So glad you have your dad, still… and your bf, at least him and his brother will have each other, though, so, I’m glad for that too.  The problem with being a single kid is that a) the proverbial rug gets yanked from under your feet; b) you are left to go out into the world viewed as *another* person, when your entire life you were the *only* person in the single parent’s world, which was the only world that existed until you lost them. That second world is a bitch to get used to.

December 22, 2019

I love the cat slippers!

December 22, 2019

@queenofegypt – Thanks! They’re memory foam, too… soooo comfy!

December 22, 2019

The cat slippers are amazing! If I were to get slippers like that, my cat would attack my feet. That would be cute.

December 24, 2019

@cappygirl – I have a foot attacker!  They’re the best. GIves my feet a purpose for being!

December 24, 2019

I am also a cat person and I love that you communicate with your mom. She’s definitely listening and who cares what people think. 🙂 Also i’m about to stalk this store you’ve mentioned! That coat is CUTE.

December 24, 2019

@hannah_banana0012 – Haahaha then you’ll love this… I ordered it a week ago 😛

https://tinyurl.com/MahNuRug

December 25, 2019

@thenerve omg amazing!!!