He Draws Constellations

“We must unlearn the constellations to see the stars” (Jack Gilbert)

Voilà. No fancy entry, just a picture of my forearm after playing fetch with Ja. Because when *I* try to grab his little ball after he brings it back, he tries to stop me, of course, and draws a little “star” each time he nails [literally!] my arm.

I mean, I COULD write how he’s built a constellation and how it’s a map of the beauty he brings to my life (hey, no pain, no gain, right?), and how I’ll forever treasure this picture because I love him to pieces… but I won’t. I will say, though, that it was funny how this lady looked at me at the eyeglass store when she saw my arm and asked me if I practice cutting. “Um, no”.

::::insert said lady’s look again, saying, in a Matthew McConaughey tone, “…riiiiight…”::::

Log in to write a note
kat
November 29, 2019

Ouch!

November 29, 2019

@kaliko  😀  I suffer it gladly!  😛

November 29, 2019

I feel like a weirdo because my first reaction to the picture was to assume you had gone through some bush that scratched you up.

November 29, 2019

@heffay – LOL that would’ve hurt less…

November 29, 2019

Haha! I used to be a veterinary technician, and I have some wicked scars on my wrists/forearms from cats. I have a semicolon tattoo on my left wrist, that instead of covering some of those scars seems to accentuate them. Nobody has ever asked me, but I’ve caught people staring; they probably assume I tried to slit my wrists at worst or just practiced cutting at best. That’s never been my deal, though.

November 29, 2019

@queenofegypt – Oh, bless your heart. I once wanted to be a vet tech soooo badly… but I can’t stand blood, so, out the window that went.

Doesn’t it crack you up when folks stare and don’t say crap? I usually like to make them feel uncomfortable by asking them “What are you looking at?”… I’ve had several reactions, lol, but it’s entertaining either way  😛

November 29, 2019

Ow! My cat does the same thing.

November 29, 2019

@justamillennial – My condolences <:)  I have no idea where mine got the playing-fetch thing. I thought that’s something dogs did. This guy, he just went and picked a little ball out of nowhere and started bring it to me, meowing nonstop at full volume (and he has SOME lungs, lemme tell you!) until I throw it back… on a loop!