Rock Band

“When a king reigns it is thanks to the people;

                               when a river sings it is thanks to the stones”   

                                                                                                (Malagasy proverb)

So, I paint rocks when I’m anxious. I got into it after finding one myself on a really dark day for me (it was an orange rock with the word “Courage” in black letters). I found that it helped me a lot more than seeking solace therapy in my refrigerator. I hide my painted rocks around town and let people find them. Sometimes I hear back (I write my e-mail on them), sometimes I don’t. The ones I’ve found have brightened my day (or night – although the night itself is calming for me). It took me 3 months to finish the above set, because I can’t draw for shit. It’s a gift for a co-worker who’s a fan of those boys. Not sure how he’ll take it, but they’re in a neat little box, with some of that colored crinkly filling paper, with a message that reads, “Your very own rock band :::cough:::”.  And they ARE river rocks 🙂

What hobbies do you have? How do they keep you sane?

Log in to write a note
November 25, 2019

Wow, look at the Backstreet Boys! They look great. I’m just kidding. You’ve kind of made me tempted to start doing that. But I also have seen my paintings and know that I can’t paint.

I listen to podcasts to keep me sane. I need humor to kind of clean out my head. I also play games to waste time and keep me from thinking too much. I’m thinking of starting up drawing. I found my old drawing pencils. I’m tempted. I’m not a good artist but that’s ok. It was always a calming thing.

November 25, 2019

@heffay – LMFAO!!!!!!!! OMG you have no idea how hard I laughed with the BSB comment hahaha!! All sorts of images went thru my head (BSB opening for the Beatles, or just giving an entire cover concert…).  I have a very vivid imagination.

I love comedy! I’m too picky about comedians to listen to podcasts, though. I have very few favorites, and just subscribe to their YouTube channels & listen when I feel like it (Fluffy cracks me up, but I like some of way darker humor). I don’t personally like games, probably because I used to work (many moons ago) as tech support for Blizzard and stuff became too repetitive and got on my nerves.

It IS okay if you’re not a “good” artist – as mentioned, neither am I, but it relaxes me & the common folk who finds my rocks seems to be okay with the amateurish quality 🙂  Like you said, it matters only that it relaxes you. BTW, I draw on the rocks before painting them. No way could I paint straight out.

November 25, 2019

@thenerve The two podcasts that I listen to are very… immature. One of them is called Blocked Party and it s by two Canadians in Vancouver. They bring a guest on, usually, a comedian, and the guest shares a story of either blocking someone on social media or being blocked. The conversations are just potty humor. It makes me laugh though.

The other podcast I listen to is Your Kickstarter Sucks. Two guys who each pick three Kickstarter campaigns that they think are terrible for whatever reason and they make fun of them or criticize them. This is one is less potty humor, and more… I don’t know the word. It’s still very immature, but they’re entertaining.

November 25, 2019

@heffay – Hey, as long as they bring you some form of joy, they’re good  🙂

November 25, 2019

They are the Beatles right?  I really like some of their songs.  To keep me from throwing sharp objects at people I care about?  I have these awesome drugs that keep me sane and I also do a lot of baking to keep me busy.

November 25, 2019

@jaythesmartone – Hahaha! Oh gosh, I know that feeling… if only it were legal to throw sharp object at actual people… lol

kat
November 25, 2019

I love the rocks! I do jewelry art, photography, or decorating as a tree relief

November 25, 2019

@kaliko – And I have seen your tree art and love it!  I tried jewelry once, but believe it or not, it proved too patience-trying for me. Plus, it’s more expensive than the rocks 😛

November 27, 2019

I love the rocks that you painted for your co-worker. It must be fun for people to stumble along those rocks.

November 27, 2019

@justamillennial – From experience in finding rocks of my own, it is! Sometimes the message on one is all you need to make your day a little better  🙂