Dinner Conversation

Staying at my daughter’s house tonight after taking Mom to chemo today.  At dinner my three grandkids were vying for a turn to get their conversations listened to.  My daughter was moderating a bit such as “now it is L’s turn to speak, just wait for your turn.”  After one of her brothers had a tongue-slip and called me by their other grandmother’s name, L (the six-year-old and oldest) launched into a catalogue of the differences between her two grandmothers.  Gra’ma E likes orange; Granny likes blue.  Gra’ma E has straight shorter hair; Granny has curlier longer hair.  Gra’ma E’s hair came from a package; Granny’s hair is more grey.

My son-in-law looked at me questioningly: “package?”  Behind him, my daughter was cracking up.  We both knew what she meant instantly.  I said “hair color” to son-in-law as the comparisons went on in the background.  Finally, my daughter called a halt to the speech, and said “OK K, now it is your turn to talk.”

After patiently waiting for several minutes, K finally was allowed to say “Will you please pass me my water!”

Log in to write a note
August 14, 2019

Oh how funny! Poor K, just needing her water!