Don’t You Evah

Listening to top 20 Recommend Songs by Google Play for my newest favorite band Spoon.  They are out of Austin, which is not why I picked them, even though I LOVE Austin.  Mom hooked me up to the Dallas/Denton station 97.1 KXT before she got dementia – a station which plays lots of music from artists who actually play concerts in Texas as part of their playlists.  Anyway, here I am, up in Dallas (from Houston) to help transition my Mom to a place for her to rehab from a broken hip from a fall.  She is in the hospital, but they are extremely ready for her to move on.  Transitions.  I love my sister, but there are lots of hard financial and care-quality questions we are talking about here.

Here is part of what I sent to my online-work-blog-entity:

I will be in touch this week. Mom did not initially seem to be interested in “working” on her physical therapy, which is essential to her moving back to any type of “normal” life. I came up to play “bad cop” this whole week because my sister is more comfortable playing “scared of upsetting the patient cop” even if it keeps Mom permanently disabled at her young-body old-mind dementia state.

So that is my other sadness that I have not talked with many about.  Husband and youngest daughter are aware that I have my feelings hurt that I was told that the blog (that I have worked for since 2010) had lost funding, and that all of us were being asked to cut down and work less and take less money. BUT NINE days after I got that first phone call, and then 3 days after I had had my “financial meeting,”  – on our weekly phone conference call, the other two main players in our team were NOT AWARE of the “whole company cutbacks.”  I am kind of done, but torn at what I wanted to still post of the things I have recorded, and also upset that my own developed contacts are still asking me to come cover their events.

Breakfast in a few hours with grandkids, and then off to hang out in a hospital room until approval for transportation results in Mom’s next move into the rehab facility.

Staying at Eldest’s daughter’s home, left our dogs at home with Hubby.  Hoping to have a few fun times with grandkids and my adult daughters and sons-in-law this weekend.

Bed now.

Log in to write a note
July 3, 2018

Spoon is really good. I’ll have to check out that station.