email update to frends about my cancer

Happy Happy November to all of my friends!  Keith and I got to enjoy Kerrville and Mountain Home (TX) last weekend on a beautiful weather weekend!  We also had a great meeting with our contractor with whom we will begin to build our home in Jan 2021, and so now, yes Ann!, we are looking at houseplans!!!
OK, so the big stuff starts next Wed Nov 20 (chemo).  Nancy is taking me.  We shall see, but everybody reacts differently, so let’s just wait and see.  I got my port in on Tuesday under general anesthesia, and I heard from my dear friend Leslie what that looked like for her when not fully “under”!  Glad I was under and glad to hear what happened!
Also, there are a bunch of drainage issues still with my mastectomey breast.  I am being told not to be alarmed, but it is alarming or at least annoying to me.  This just keeps me even more often in the doctors’ waiting rooms and as my cousin Sandy said – “is disrupting my life!”
Thank you for your prayers,
e
P.S. Oh yeah, we went to Egypt as was planned before I got my diagnosis. We went 5 weeks after my mastectomy.  I insisted on this camel ride beside the Giza pyramids.  People ask “would you recommend this activity?” and the answer is “it depends on how much you want the picture!”
Log in to write a note
BJ.
November 25, 2019

I am sorry about your cancer diagnosis.  Hope you are doing well after starting treatments last week.  I have never read you before but read an entry a while back and you mentioned Texas, I think San Antonio and Houston.  I grew up in Post, TX 40 miles from Lubbock.  I moved to Austin in 1991 and was here till 2001 and moved to Lubbock.  I am back and living in Buda, TX and don’t plan to leave ever again!  My son lives in Austin and we are planning on buying a property on the edge of town where we can have two houses.  I remember seeing your name years ago but never knew you were in Texas.  Just wanted to say hi and hope you are doing as ok as you can be during treatments.

November 26, 2019

@bj Thank you!  I came on OD many years ago without mentioning Texas much, but my whole family has many many roots here, and my husband and I have lived all over the state, but always in Texas, both of our entire lives since birth. 🙂 -13D

November 26, 2019

Our now 30-year-old youngest daughter was born in Plainview.  My husband and I both grew up in the Dallas area. We ended up north of Houston, where my husband and I still live, and are now also building our retirement home near Kerrville.