Racism

When my daughter cautioned me against using “black face” – I was stunned. I don’t know how I have failed to come to a place to where my own daughter would consider that I would even think about that. I was deeply offended by my own daughter and also this makes me want to consider where she got this idea. My own parents were extremely progressive for their time, and as a child, I was not aware of the different “place” that race should assume, although I was still aware of the different roles between men and women.

In that vein of tradition, I always considered it important to respect “our elders” – meaning those in the generation above us. So, against all of my beliefs, I tolerated very racist remarks and complaints about their lives from my in-laws over the years. I was going with the just-be-quiet-and-ignore-it strategy. Well, that has not apparently done a proper job of parenting to my now grown children.

I did shut my mother-in-law’s mouth twice over the years over this issue when she was being her regular self and I was having a bad day.

Ugg! I now feel it my proper job as an adult parent of adults to tell those adult children of ours how I really feel/believe! I think we sometimes assume in families that we all understand each other, but I am learning that that is not true based on my current experience.

Log in to write a note
April 21, 2018

For some reason, people have been calling black face racist even if its done in jest or as satire. Billy Crystal got recently called out for doing his Sammy Davis Jr. thing even though he’s done it countless times over the last 30 years and with Davis’ approval. I don’t think your daughter was calling you a racist but trying to warm you that others might, she’s trying to protective.

April 21, 2018

I guess you could have asked your daughter if maybe she’d gotten you confused with her mother-in-law.  If you were really bitter you could ask her if maybe you had played a role in making her hate racism.  On the third hand, congratulations, your daughter seems to have turned out OK.

April 21, 2018

Thanks guys.  I was overthinking it.  We were talking about Halloween costumes, and how I really admired the character General Okoye from the movie Black Panther, which my husband and I just saw.  I said I might dress up as her, never mentioning exactly what I had in mind, but it certainly wasn’t blackface.  -13D