Celebrating birthdays with 15-hour shifts.

Today is the anniversary of Pearl Harbor , and I never forget, because it’s the day after my birthday. It’s sobering visiting Pearl Harbor. Historical sites always have these funky energies to them.

Yesterday was an okay day. I didn’t anticipate working so long on my birthday, but there was a party reservation here at the course, and I had to stay until they left, which apparently ended up being midnight, although the party was scheduled until 8:00 pm. James came and brought my birthday to me, and we had some pizza from next door. He’s great about getting me things I would utilize, so he got me a tackle backpack, a knife set for field dressing, some lures, and my daughters got me a new phone case and cord protectors (jesus I sound like a redneck). I’m looking forward to packing my tackle bag and heading out to the refuge tomorrow to do a little fishing and hiking maybe.

I hate James’s UTA weekends, because I guess I’m needy and hate being apart. I always intend on going out and having drinks or dinner with people I never see, but instead I end up going home after work and hanging out with my dogs and watching Netflix. Which is probably what I’ll end up doing tonight. Socializing is just so… exhausting. I know I’m isolating myself, and it’s never a good thing, but I can’t seem to force myself to pretend to enjoy being around people except my family. I’d rather be on my couch with a book or outdoors in some quiet grassland.

Grabbed some info on the nurse intern positions that open in the summer. I suppose I’ll apply, but I’m not sure where I’m going to squeeze a 24hr/week internship with required 4-hour conferences into my preexisting two jobs. I know I’m maxing myself out with work and school and family, but I don’t really know any other way to exist.

After all, it’s just temporary, right? At least that’s what I tell myself…

Log in to write a note
December 7, 2019

It would be temporary.  That’s very true.  But in the end, it would be worth it.  The juggling won’t be easy though and you will have to prioritize every minute of your time.  But once again, well worth the temporary sacrifice.  Do you think you might qualify for a scholarship or would you be open to a student loan?