a lot to update on

So the week before winter break I ended up getting COVID. I ended up in the hospital for 5 days. Thankfully I got out before Christmas but still felt like crap. When I was in the hospital I had a 80 year old roommate and she was something else. I didn’t get much sleep. She had a ring that someone in her family gave her and she was obsessed with the damn thing. The nurses put it in the case it came in and she would keep moving it all these other places and then ask the nurses where it was. They finally put it in a safe at the nurse’s station. Then she was bitching about her dentures which she only had 1 half of anyway. She asked for the bonding stuff to put it in and they gave her some. She put them in and then she wanted them back out so there was a nice CNA I think she was who was trying to help her take them out and I don’t know if she spit at the lady or what but the lady was like the heck with it. Then she was super messy. She literally had a buffet of sweets and she got it all over her, the bed, the floor. I felt bad for housekeeping. One time she spilled coffee or tea on the floor and didn’t tell anyone about it I happened to look down and noticed it and then when the nurse came I told her to be careful she didn’t fall.  At night she would purposely set off this alarm they had on the bed because she was a fall risk. So usually they would come in and tell her not to try to get out of bed, turn the alarm off and then leave and then she would yell as loud as she could that she needed to go to the bathroom. I tried everything. They had the foam ear plugs I tried those, still could hear her. I had my husband drop off headphones and I plugged them into my phone and played thunderstorm sounds I could STILL hear her. She talked nonstop and then the oxygen alarm would go off and she would be like “why is that going off?” I was tempted to say “if you shut up it wouldn’t keep going off” but I was nice. So a bit of TMI but when I was in the hospital I did not poop except the last day and it was a little bit. So when I got to go home I was severly constipated. It was horrible. When I was in the hospital they said that I was diabetic so they started me on metformin which you think would have helped with the constipation issue considering I was on 500mg 2x a day but nope. The metformin did make it so I didn’t sleep and had night sweats though. So my birthday was December 30th I felt like crap on that day so that sucked. Then I was on medical leave because I was still having side effects from COVID I tested negative but I still had a bad cough, shortness of breath and a fast heart rate so took a little extra time off work because I was supposed to go back on Jan. 3rd. I didn’t go back until Jan. like 20th. Reason being I got COVID a 2nd time but it wasn’t as bad as the first time. My husband and son also got it this time. I think I got it from either my son or husband. My husband had the bad cough but didn’t end up in the hospital. They were both vaccinated but didn’t get the booster yet. The first time I had it and ended up in the hospital they told me I had the delta strand and I believe the second time I got it it was the omnicron one. So my work said I could go back even though I said that was having symptoms thankfully the dr disagreed and told me to stay home to quarantine. I’m kind of scared to know how many people they sent back to work before they should have been sent back and I work in a school so that is even worse. So when I finally got back to work I found out I was not with the student from Korea anymore. Now I’m with a boy who is in 3rd grade. He barely works and tries to throw tantrums like he’s 2 to avoid doing work. I heard his mom does his homework so he’s always trying to take it home. Yea that’s not happening so now when he refuses to do it I just say “that’s fine we can stay in at recess and you can get it done then.” and I keep my word. He tries to say it’s too hard but the thing is I’m sitting right next to him trying to help him as he’s saying this and he tries to crumple up his paper and huff and puff. I’m so done with it. He also is in everyone’s business. He will call out other students and I’m like the only one you need to worry about is yourself. He tries to say other students pick fights with him or say things to him and he gets all upset and it’s like avoid those kids and ignore them. He constantly thinks everyone is looking at him and I keep telling him they are probably looking at something behind you I need to start saying they have a right to look wherever they want. So yea. Next year I’m really considering going to a different school and becoming a library para again. I don’t think I’m gonna get another opportunity to be in a self contained classroom and I can’t do a building para because they have you running all over the place with different kids and it’s hard enough for me walk around the building now. I gotta try to find some kind of job where I can maybe earn some extra income doing something from home because our wages aren’t cutting  it for bills. This time we got paid we didn’t have enough to get groceries. My son works at walmart and my husband decided to have  him and his friend that is living with us pay 100 dollars for rent/bills and my son says that this isn’t fair. I have told him before he needs to pay for his own personal items and he told me that it’s still our responsibility since he’s not 18 yet. My husband wants him to pay the money so he learns responsibility and I agree with my husband. I did a survey of sorts on fb and a lot of people were saying that we shouldn’t make him start paying until he’s 18 but we need the extra help with the bills and 100 a month isn’t a bad deal I don’t think. Thankfully for the groceries situation one of my former co workers who is a teacher was kind enough to send me some money on paypal so I could get some. I hate asking people for money. My mom is always trying to help me out and I feel bad because now she’s retired so her money is a little tighter than it used to be. She does get LINK so sometimes she will let me use it but I don’t like making a habit of it. So that’s my interesting update for now.

Log in to write a note
February 5, 2022

Your story of your 80 year old roommate in the hospital made me laugh.  My husband is in a Care Home, and he often forgets where he puts things and blames the staff.

As far as charging your son $100/month for rent, perhaps you could let him know you are having trouble making ends meet and paying for groceries and he could help with that.  Does he get a discount for groceries at Walmart?  That might help.  I know that I helped out my parents back in the day when I was underage and working.  I bought all my own clothes and supplies and pitched in for groceries.  I felt like they did so much for me, it was the least I could do.  But it was voluntary.

My daughter works as a school secretary and is getting her Master’s Degree in order to teach.  She is very good with the kids, but of course, there are always some who are a problem.  I wish you the best of luck.  🙂

February 6, 2022

@novembercirese I think that’s what my husband is trying to do with the 100 bucks deal because my husband had a bad living situation so he moved in with me and my mom when we were still in our teens and he worked so he would help out however he could. Basically my husband is trying to teach my son that things cost money. That is awesome about your daughter. I’ve been asked by kids and staff why I don’t go back to school to become a teacher. I don’t want to deal with parents and have all that paperwork to have to do. All the kids I work with have IEPs or behavior plans or for some both. A lot of the issues come from the parents not giving a crap about their kids. It’s really sad.

February 5, 2022

I was a para for a few years, I really enjoyed it and might look for another job next year after we move but it is a lot sometimes. Some kid the kids can be violent 😳 glad you didn’t go to work, it’s crazy how they’re okay with people going to school and work with Covid symptoms now. It’s so annoying!! Stay healthy!

February 6, 2022

@boring I have worked with violent kids in the past thankfully they haven’t tried to put their hands on me but I’ve been called some pretty creative names but it doesn’t bother me because I know they are just getting out their frustrations and that it isn’t necessarily me they are upset with. You should really think of going back. It’s a stressful job but is always interesting. I’ve been every para position in elementary I think you can be besides autism. I’ve been library, self contained, kindergarten, and building.

February 6, 2022

@torturedsoul_1 I’ve done all including autism but autism was actually to me the most fulfilling. My least favorite was My Down syndrome because she was really mean and violent. I do think I’ll likely try to go back into the field when I move, I really did enjoy it. ❤️❤️

March 2, 2022

@boring I love the downs kiddos. We had one named riasha. She was cute African American girl but she was feisty. One of her first days she smacked another girl across the face so the teacher bent down to her level and told her”that is not ok we do not hit. ” later riasha got a break and I heard her repeating “that is not ok.” I was cracking up.

March 2, 2022

@torturedsoul_1 mine was a little mean girl, my gosh she was horrible! I definitely don’t think I would have been able to deal with her for my whole time plus her family was not in a great place. It was really awful and sad. It is always funny when they say things like that though! 😂