finally spring break!!!!!

So this past week has been spring break for us and it’s been a true break. So before break we now have 10 students. The one finally got sent to ED program at a different school HALLEUJAH!!!! The other one got sent to PLUS but then we got 4 new students. One student witnessed his sister who was his guardian get murdered in front of him and then the bf who committed the crime tried to kill himself but didn’t succeed but he wasn’t fit to stand trial so I’m not sure what happened. His sister enrolled him in school at 3rd grade and then got killed a few weeks later. The family never got him any counseling so he has a hard time trusting people and literally will give the teacher a hug and then like 30 minutes later be calling her a ugly fat b*tch . We try to have empathy for him but it’s so hard some days beause he’s constantly walking around the room telling the other kids they are stupid or ugly or fat or to shut up and he doesn’t do very much work at all. The school has already had to call DCFS for some stuff going on and not sure what happened with the investigation. The other 3 kids aren’t too bad so that’s good. We are supposed to be getting our 1st grade friend when we get back from break so we will see how that goes. So over break we discovered that my teacher’s daughter started having seizures and actually stopped breathing. My teacher’s husband who is a detective had to perform CPR on her. They were able to bring her back and she was taken to one of our local hospitals but then transferred to a hospital in Madison. They found a tumor in her pelvis which was cutting off circulation to her kidneys so all the toxins were building up in her kidneys and brain. She said when they got to Madison her kidneys were functioning at >5%. For the past few weeks they thought that she was having migraines but it sounds like they weren’t migraines. So the last update my teacher said her daughter’s kidneys were functioning at 50% so that’s better but the tumor was cancer so she is going to have to do chemo treatments and that she won’t possibly be able to come home until April 3rd but it sounds like that depends on how well her kidneys are doing so she won’t be at school all next week and possibly longer than that. I feel so helpless and bad for her and her family. I just feel like I should be doing something but I’m not sure what. Me and the other para have told her if they need anything to let us know. So we will see what happens. I’m hoping for the best. I got to go visit my brother in Kankakee. He’s not doing too bad but the staff did say that they were having issues with him going to work. She said he only works 3 days a week and the other 2 days he does fun stuff. We asked why he wasn’t going to work and he claimed it was because he didn’t get paid well. I told him I don’t get paid well at my job but I still have to go if I want to make money. Plus the behavior lady said if he doesn’t go to the program that is on campus he can’t go to the other one that is off campus where he could make more money. So hopefully he will go to work. I finally found out what happened with the incident with the behavior lady. She told me that it was after their unit got bed bugs and they had to throw out his stuff and then he didn’t know where things were and I guess there was other issues going on in the unit so that caused him to do what he did. I’m still not happy with that but glad someone at least explained what happened. So not looking forward to going back to work on Monday because I’m not sure when we are getting our 1st grade friend and not sure how the kids spring breaks went which if it wasn’t good usually we have behaviors because of it. I will try to update if I have the energy.

Log in to write a note
March 25, 2023

So much!  And I am thinking good thoughts for the other teacher’s daughter.  It’s so scary to have a sick child.