my opinion about race issue

So I’m a white woman who has a lot of (african american, black, brown, POC) friends or acquaintances. I love everyone and could give a shit less what color you are and that’s the honest truth. It seems like no matter what us white people say or do we are wrong. I was in a teacher group on FB and I said I don’t see people by their color which is true I don’t I was told I’m “color blind” and that I needed to learn about diversity and they wouldn’t have their children in my class because I said I treat each and every one of my kids equally. I have the rule you treat me with respect I’ll do the same and I try to teach them that their actions have consequences and that it doesn’t have anything to do with race. I understand that some students don’t respect me because I’m white and I’m fine with that or they use the “it’s because I’m black isn’t it?” NO it doesn’t have a thing to do with you being black it simply comes down to you need to be held accountable for your actions. Then I have a biracial friend that every post I put on FB about police officers she says F*ck the police. OK I understand where she’s coming from but why every single post. I personally can’t say I’ve been discriminated by the police but I also don’t run from the police, argue with them, make shit harder than it needs to be and I know not all POC do that stuff either but watch a episode of COPS or Live PD and it’s interesting how many argue, run or just do dumb stuff but they can’t understand why SOME of the police do what they do. I’ve said this everything has a good and bad to it. Every job, every race, every thing. I agree we need to get rid of the bad ones who are just cowards with a badge that want to share their hatred and judgement but there are so many good ones too.  There is a officer on FB named I think Officer Norman. White cop that goes into the housing projects and hangs out with the kids, he goes to the elderly and checks in on them making sure they are OK. Some in my own community that do so much good. I don’t judge every POC so why does it feel like they group us all together. The whole world just needs to learn understanding even if they don’t agree with everything someone does or says. I try not to argue about the cop stuff because POC are right we don’t understand what it feels like to live in their skin but they don’t understand what its like to live in our skin too. I lived in a housing project when I was in my teens. I hated it besides the few friends I made . 2 people were POC. These ladies are my best friends. Me and my biracial friend were literally  2 out of the 3 WHITE families that lived there and the others did not like us being there. I was punched in the mouth by a POC who was 12 who accused me of hitting him with a basketball and I  had never seen him before in my life so no clue how I could hit someone I never saw before. Rioting is another thing that a lot of POC are upset about. I’m totally with them if they want to protest beceause I feel they have a right to do that but I truly don’t understand what is the purpose to rioting and destroying property  that has nothing to do with the protest. I also have heard by POC stop using MLK. Why can’t I? MLK made change and I’m sure if some POS hadn’t assassinated him he would have made a lot more of it. With MLK he faced some horrific things :people bombing his house, spitting on him and his protestors, threatening to murder him,being thrown in jail and so much more but did he resort to violence or revenge? NO he just kept boycotting things and protesting WITHOUT violence. That’s why I talk about MLK and use him. He knew how to do a peaceful protest and still made some change even with so much to lose. Then there is the vandalism of historic figures and taking down statues and pretty much rewriting history. Abraham Lincoln was the one who freed POC from slavery so why are people destroying statues of him? To me what is the point of trying to erase history? I don’t understand it. Yea slavery was awful and some of the things done through history were too but by trying to erase it it isn’t going to fix what’s going on today.

 

I love this song because it has different sides to it. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KSurzeGvPrQ.

Theres another song by joyner lucas called I’m not racist but I won’t share the link because it does have racist slurs in it so parental discretion advised  but it has a good point to it and has 2 sides of it.

 

I don’t want to lose any POC friends I have or this whole thing. I just try my best to see others opinions on this situation without judging. It’s very hard but that’s the only way there is going to be change and I know there are many people who just don’t get it from any perspective.

Log in to write a note
kat
June 26, 2020

I don’t care what color a person is. if they are gay or straight, rich or poor, fat or skinny young or old… I just care that the person is kind and being funny is also a big plus

June 26, 2020

@kaliko me too. My son is gay and he has a friend that is non binary and I love them no matter what. I just don’t want to lose a best friend because of all this race issues. I understand we all have difference experiences and opinions and I respect theirs and hope they can respect mine

June 26, 2020

Omg, I agree with you on everything! I have said the same things. I don’t understand the looting and rioting,  destroying property and setting fires. Peaceful protesting I understand. I love everyone, black, white, gay, straight unless they give me a reason not to. 

June 26, 2020

@mamaqueenie518 EXACTLY!!!! I just hope I don’t lose a good friend for having a different opinion than hers.

 

June 27, 2020

There’s a whole lot of information and belief in that post up there. I am not arguing with you. I am not white, but some folks think I am because to them, I look white. I started an anti-racism class on Juneteenth this year because it was the first time I had seen a class, for people like me, white people, but also calling on and including the scholarship and lived experience of BIPOC. Who have had many of the thoughts you have. And now I know, but it’s a constantly evolving and changing thing. Being “color blind” is not the desirable outcome, because it does not take in to account the active harm that our white-supremacist society (that’s designed to be self-perpetuating) continues to inflict on Black people, largely because people like you and I don’t understand it, don’t understand all of it, and haven’t so far, learned or done some of this work. I am not attacking you, and I wish no harm to you, I hope you wish me no harm also =). I know this stuff is so hard. It’s hard for me too. I’m trying to do the work. Doing the work doesn’t mean I will never make another mistake, it means I will try to be more aware, learn about the things and perspectives of BIPOC and other marginalized groups, and try to also teach others where I can. I am open to doing this, it doesn’t require another BIPOC to do the work. Let me know if you are interested. Understanding where BIPOC are coming from is a large part of it, and acknowledging their trauma and experiences. Peace to you!

September 22, 2020

@bohemianrhapsodeee thank you for the note. I totally understand everyone has a different opinion on this situation that is why I try not to get upset when friends have different opinions because everyone is entitled to their opinion and I truly have no clue what it is like to live in a colored person’s skin so I can’t say that none of the stuff they have experienced does or doesn’t exist. It’s just a hard conversation to have with people.