shitty first day back at work

Today was my first day back at work from my sprained ankle. My manager has a meeting and then proceeds to say that I faked my injury all because I was also a soccer coach and still went to games and practices and because I was around the school on a few occasions. Then she said that I was the reason the kitchen was running crappy.

Let me explain why she’s full of shit. Yes I did go to soccer practices and games BUT for practices I sat on the grass or a wall and didn’t move until the end of practice and let my husband run practices.For games I went to them but had a fold up chair that I SAT in most of the game except if I needed to tell my husband something which wasn’t very often.

There was a few times I went in the school to get a bag that had soccer balls and jerseys in them for practice. There was also a accident that happened in the staff parking lot at the school one day and I had looked over across the street because the soccer field is across the street from the actual school. I would let my son play on the school playground while we did soccer practice. I had looked over at the playground and noticed he wasn’t there and that there was no other children on the playground which usually there was. So I LIMPED over to the school to find out where he was and was stopped by one of the soccer player’s moms who told me that the police were chasing a guy that had taken off from the accident around the neighborhoods surrounding the school. I then went inside the buildng to find out if they wanted us to bring the kids back in for the time being because of the police presence and was told don’t worry about it pretty much. I didn’t quite understand that one because you would think if the police were CHASING someone near a school that they would lockdown the school until the person was caught but guess the kids aren’t that important.

When I first injuried my ankle I went to a immediate care type place and was told by the doctor I saw there to go to my REGULAR doctor so I went and saw the regular doctor for the rest of the time and according to my manager I was full of it because I said I was going to my family doctor and not the one that originally saw me. DUH I’m going to my regular doctor because that is where I was told to go. Why go bother a doctor that I only saw once for the injury? My regular doctor didn’t give me any favors or extend my time because I told him to.

Another big thing of why I know I didn’t FAKE my injury. I was only paid for maybe a week of being off because of personal and sick time. Now if I was faking why in the world would I waste those days just for the hell of it and if I was faking as soon as my manager told me that my paid time was up and I wasn’t going to get paid for it I would have come back then especially since my husband had just started his bus driver job and hadn’t gotten paid for it yet. Yea who in their right mind would want to not work when the bills would start piling up from not working and they could lose their apartment, have no gas for their vehicles, no electricity, no gas, no phones. I don’t think there are that many that would do all that to fake an injury or illness.

I understand me being gone made things harder for everyone and I feel guilty enough about that but telling me I’m the reason that things suck in the kitchen is bullshit. If she’s the manager then obviously it’s not all my fault. I will admit I suck at speed in a lot of areas especially when prepping things and serving certain items but it was funny how before I got hurt my manager was always saying how my co-worker was slow on stuff too but now since I have come back its my fault for everything. I’m so tempted the next time she says I’m putting you on the computer to say well since you said I suck at everything you might not want me to do the computer then either and let my co worker do it instead. I told my husband no matter how sick I am from now on I will come into work to prove it since every time I get sick or have the shits and puking I stay home from work just in case its something contagious but now I don’t give a shit and if I ever get injured again in any way I will go to work and if she says I have to send you home I will say NOPE I’m staying right here wouldn’t want you claiming I’m faking it.

Then I get off work to find out that husband got laid off for the time being from the bus driver job because they can’t run background checks on anyone because of the government shutdown.

Then we go to get my mom who had told me yesterday what days she had therapy which include tomorrow which is our last soccer game and the times clash so I asked if she cancel it and she got all bent out of shape about it. It pisses me off because I feel more like a fucking taxi driver and all I wanted was to do something besides my job and coaching soccer wasn’t exactly a great choice but its something to do with my time but god forbid I get to have a life. I had to cancel a eye dr appointment and a ultrasound result appointment because of soccer which was my fault for not checking first before I made them but I did it but other people can’t check with you to see if you have plans for a certain day or time and even if you tell them that you can’t do something on a certain day or time that they actually remember but get mad at you for having plans. I could be a bitch and tell my mom to get a ride to her appointment from paratransit or vans that take people to their appointment but I’m nice and don’t and she is nice enough to put gas in our vehicles but it just bugs me that I can’t do it one time and she gets pissy about it.

So sorry for this long rant but I had to write it out somewhere or I was going to go crazy. Now its off to bed. Hopefully tomorrow is 10x better than today. I plan to not say much to my manager unless I absolutely have to and do my job and get the hell out of there.

Log in to write a note