THIS YEAR IS FINALLY OVER. THANK GOD!!!

Today was our official last day of school. I had gotten a email last night from the principal saying she needed to see me this morning before the students got there. I had talked to another para and they said that the principal just wanted do a check out with me so I was like ok so I wasn’t super nervous going in. Let me give a little bit of back story so my class has 3,4, and 5th grades in one room. One of the students who is a 5th grader and wouldn’t be my student after today his mom friend requested me on FB Tuesday. So yesterday he had told the teacher that he tried to call me but I didn’t answer. Ok so today when I went in to see the principal she said that someone went on Let’s talk which is a form someone can fill out anymously or put their name and voice their concerns,questions, comments etc on and said that I had given a student my phone number which i shook my head no for and then she was like or friend request someone on fb and that HR was looking into so I wasn’t allowed to go in the room and that I needed to go see if the library para had anything for me to do. So my first thought was the stupid bitch teacher. So a little bit later the principal comes in and tells me that HR cleared me and that it was the student’s mom who reported me. Well that didn’t make sense to me because the student’s mom was the one that friend requested me so why would she do that and then go report me on let’s talk so I think the principal was just saying that so I didn’t know it was the teacher because after that she said that I should stay in the library for the rest of the day. So I didn’t get to say goodbye to my students which really made me upset. I messaged the mom to see what I could figure out. She told me that the principal called her and that she told the principal that her fb page was private so no one could friend request her and she had to friend request them and that she didn’t have a problem with her son being in contact with  me because her son was happy and would always come home and talk about me. I had written him a note and his mom just saying to her that she raised him right because he is so respectful and was always carrying my art box for me and would help me and talk with me and honestly he made my crappy days dealing with the teacher’s crap much better. So I texted the teacher and said this” I know what you did and that was bogus. good luck at your new school.” To which she wrote back “not sure what I did besides my job so idk what’s bogus. Think it’s pretty bogus you had the audacity to call me “that bitch” in a work place when I did nothing wrong. I hope you never treat/act the way you did  in my classroom with whoever in the future. Best of luck to you.” and my reply was”well let’s see you trying to get me fired is pretty fucking bogus and treating me like shit all year when I did nothing but be nice to you. Funny you were talking about bullying but you were the bully. I could have ratted your ass out so many times but I didn’t but you had no trouble throwing me under the bus. I hope you learn how to play well with others because the next para you have hopefully won’t be as nice as I was. Such a fucking hypocrite. Hope you learn  to grow up and act like a adult.  ”

I truly was more than nice to her. In the beginning of the year she would go the whole day without saying a word to me so how am I supposed to know what you want or want me to do with the students and every time I tried to help them she would tell me not to. She would write me daily summaries which I think might be in a different entry if I remember correctly but they were so stupid. She literally had them on their computers most of the day and our kids were in person. After I got my union rep involved because when I went to the principal she told me we were adults basically meaning to me that we should be able to fix our own problems things got somewhat better. We finally started doing small groups for a little bit of time in between all of the netflix movies. Then the disrespectful girl came into the picture and we didn’t even less work because she would constantly interrupt but instead of writing her up she never did. Then there was the disrespectful girl treating me like shit and the teacher not saying a word to her about how rude it was or writing her up. I’m just so glad she is going to a different school in another part of the state so I won’t have to deal with her next year. I’m hoping to get placed with the teacher I spent 2 years with at a previous school but we will see. Good news is me and the student are able to keep in touch with each other. His mom was all for it.

Log in to write a note
June 11, 2021

I will never understand why paras are treated like they are less than by other teachers and staff. You are all there to work together… Sounds like that teacher needs a lesson in simple etiquette.

June 12, 2021

@scarlettlee yes i completely agree. This is the only teacher in the 9 years that I have been a para that has treated me like crap. All the rest have loved me.