My Experience on Bodyshaming

As a teenager, I’ve always been body-shamed and I took attention to it just this year. People in my school would call me names like “skeleton”, “stick”, “tree branch” because I was skinny and taller than the rest. They would also call me “espasol” because of my fair skin. The worse about this is that the word “flat chested” literally affected the way I see myself. I would look at the mirror and check a lot of times. I also stuffed my bra’s so It would look like i have big boobs even tho i don’t. One time when some of my classmates were playing truth or dare, someone said ” slightly hit the head of someone slut in our section and they all did hit me in the head. It was the most painful experience I’ve ever had. What did i do to deserve such an experience? Was it because i like to make myself look pretty and presentable? because i have friends?. I didn’t get them and i hated them or the rest of high school. I was grateful that the pandemic has happened not because people get sick and die but because i learned so much this past year. To love and accept myself and not give a damn about whoever talks about me like that because in the end, what i think about myself is what matters.

Log in to write a note
September 19, 2021

“To love and accept myself and not give a damn about whoever talks about me like that because in the end, what i think about myself is what matters.” BRAVO! When people attack you it is often a projection of a perceived flaw in themselves. Just an idea. Great you have got to where you are now. Skinny and flat are sexy to some guys. To hell with your critics. Smile and love yourself for all your good. Try not to be like THEM in their pettiness.

mai
September 23, 2021

@scaht thankyou!!

September 22, 2021

I have been “skinny” my entire life.  I am now 41 years old and I still get comments on my weight to this day.  According to a BMI chart, I am within the normal weight range for my height and age.  The fact is the majority of people are overweight, so they think they are “normal” but they aren’t.  They pick on people like you and I because it makes them feel better about themselves.  Take the higher road, don’t worry what they say because in all likelihood they are just jealous and wish they could look like you.

mai
September 23, 2021

@psychoactive thank you!!. Opening about this makes me feel free. and I know I’m not the only one  who has these experiences >3