Almost a busy day

But then I decided not to be.

I did run the mower over the yard, not because the grass was unruly but because early season weeds were. I’ll probably drop the deck (it’s actually a small lawn tractor) clean everything and do the yearly service next weekend. I cut back some more brush with the chain saw, and while I was “mowing” I drove into the thick in the North end of the yard where the chickens are going to go. I’ve already made some passes this year with the weed eater, and last year I pretty well nuked it with the Roundup Brush and Poison Ivy Killer, so I’m almost done with it. I just have to get the bigger stuff out and then either get the tractor in there to bag everything or use the leaf blower to suck it all up into containers. I’m not down to dirt yet, there’s about three inches of leaves and whatnot accumulated since the previous owners neglected it.

I did some online shopping with Home Depot today for some essential equipment I’ll need. I got a gas auger with both an eight inch and a ten inch bit for the fence posts, a chop saw and stand for when I start the sheds, and a dual-port battery charger with a bonus spare battery for my cordless power tools. All in all a pretty good haul, and it’s eighteen months interest free on my credit card. I’ve already got payments set up to get it paid off in seventeen months.

Thank-you to everyone for all the support with my weight loss goal, I really appreciate it and I think it will help keep me motivated and on track.

The wheat is coming up nicely, it’s about four inches tall now, so I’ll probably kill the mulch next week some time. I’ve got to rent a tiller next week while I’m off work so I can get the corn and loofah gourds in the ground. While I’ve got it there are some gross spots in the lawn I might just plow under and re-seed. Of course I’ll have to get some wheat straw to cover it since last time I did that the birds ate friggin’ all of the seed I spread. I talked to Critter today about partnering up on the loofah/soap thing, and she seemed half-way interested. It’s no big, I’m just trying to help her out, I don’t need the soap to do my thing with them.

In case you’re wondering why I didn’t just buy a tiller, I couldn’t afford a good one, and I’m done with buying “good enough for now” stuff that I have to buy again later but a better version. I never seem to be able to sell the old stuff when I’m done with it, so I either have extra crap laying around or I end up donating it to a thrift shop for them to sell. Or worst case, I hang on to it for so long it becomes obsolete and I end up throwing it away.

I keep forgetting to put my entries in the current chapter of my diary. Before the Dark Times there was a way to set up default options for new entries, I’m going to have to poke around and see if that’s still available or if it got dropped in the re-launch.

Log in to write a note