Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride

Had some excitement on the way home this afternoon. Some crap fell off a truck in front of me on the highway and one of the pieces I couldn’t dodge killed my front right tire. Going from 70 to zero on grass with only three tires is not an experience I want to repeat anytime soon, but I’m fine and the car is driveable. I might even be able to re-use the rim the shredded tire is on; there’s only one little bend in it and it’s well away from where the bead on the tire is. I guess I’ll find out tomorrow.

Garden update: the popcorn has already peeked up through the mulch, which surprised me because the sweet corn took almost ten days and it’s only been five or six. The loofah vines are starting to show too; so far I count six. I think I planted ten or twelve but something, either a chipmunk or squirrel, was digging around the trellis and I might have lost some to snackage, lol. The zucchini have started to flower in earnest now, so hopefully I’ll get some veggies in a few weeks. I’ll be planting pumpkins in with the popcorn for ground cover in a few weeks once it’s about a foot high or so. Hopefully the pumpkins and zucchini are far enough apart time-wise that I don’t get any freaky cross-breeds next year since I’m going to try saving my pumpkin seeds. I’ve got to get the wheat in and hung for drying this weekend or I’m going to lose it. It’s already starting to lay over which means I’m a few days behind. As long as I don’t get a lot of rain the next few days it’ll be fine. I’m looking at buying a rice knife to harvest with since I’ve only got a 6×6 plot. Does anyone know of a better tool?

Have to run off to sleep now, I have a very long day tomorrow that starts at 0700 with work and ends in a date with TreeSap that won’t be over until at least 2230. We’re off to see Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom.

Log in to write a note