Pre-wedding reception and TreeSap

Well the reception for the out of town guests was very nice. It was at the bride’s family’s uncle’s house. Like me, they have set aside a portion of their yard as an outdoor entertaining space except their “outdoor entertaining space” is as big as my entire freaking yard. Seriously. Most of the rest of the property is a well-tended vineyard with rainwater collection and storage systems to help through the dry months, between three and six thousand gallons worth. They had a lovely crop of grapes growing in, and all the leaves on the vines I could see close up were deep green and very large. The reception was catered, and they did a wonderful job as well.

Now on to TreeSap, she broke it off with me. While I was at the reception (on the opposite coast) and by text message no less. Her middle child and only daughter doesn’t like the fact that I’m the same age as her (Sapling #2’s) grandfather. She told TreeSap it isn’t right, and she’s uncomfortable around me. I’ve only seen the girl once since TreeSap and I started dating but I guess it was a hell of a bad impression. And the only physical affection TreeSap and I have ever demonstrated in her presence was hand-holding, so it’s not like she walked in on us doing the horizontal hula or anything. I’m heartbroken, but I told TreeSap at the start of the relationship, when we talked about me eventually meeting the kids, that their feelings in all this were just as important to me as hers were. I also told her that the kids were more important than I was, and I was ok with that. She is always going to be their mom, no matter where our relationship ended up going.

So here I am, single once again, and not even able to properly grieve because I’m supposed to be celebrating my nephew’s wedding and I don’t want to be a wet blanket over the festivities.

Log in to write a note
July 20, 2018

I’m sorry she couldn’t wait until you got home to end things. How hurtful and disrespectful.  I hope you’re able to enjoy the wedding festivities, and seeing your family.