Update

Just a quick update on the situation from last night:

The reason I stopped mid-entry like I did was K and I both have iPhones with iCloud accounts, and in addition my desktop unit is a Mac, so it popped up right in front of me while I was typing and I had to read it to clear it. Sorry about that.

K’s grandfather is stable and not a bad off as I thought he was from her description, she’s a bit disengaged right now and wasn’t paying close attention. It’s not entirely her fault, she’s about to hit full-on puberty like a wall and I can tell from behavioral cues that her hormones are already whacked. Also, she doesn’t have the best relationship with him and refers to him as “mommy’s daddy” rather than any variation of the word “grandfather”. He does have a broken hip from falling off his front porch and is going to be in the hospital for a bit with that situation. As far as the bleeding on the brain there is evidence of it, but the doctors aren’t sure if it’s from this fall, a recent assault, or a bicycle accident a few weeks ago. At any rate the way K mentioned it made it sound urgent than it actually is; there is some increased intra-cranial pressure but from talking to Critter last night I get the impression the doctors are monitoring it but only as a precaution.

The water problems at their house are from plumbing problems that have been going on for three or four days and the landlord is being slow to respond. I honestly think he’s trying to run her off because he gave her a discount on the lease just to occupy the unit and he’s not getting as much money out of it as he otherwise could now that the housing market has tightened up a bit. At any rate I told her she could use my shower anytime I wasn’t using it (on account of her boyfriend might object if we shared, lol) and of course the laundry facilities were open to her as well. She’ll probably take me up on a couple of loads of laundry to get caught up but she’s very nearly as stubborn and prideful as I am and will likely end up using one of the laundromats in town if this goes on too long.

At any rate I’ve got K for the day, and she’s got a date. With a boy. I’ve decided that I’m going to stop carrying my matte black Glock inside my waistband and buy a chromed Desert Eagle in .50 AE to wear in a thigh holster, just for the boyfriend’s benefit. 😂

Log in to write a note
April 21, 2018

hahahaha Why does this last line remind me of the day so very very very long ago that I brought a boyfriend to the house and my father and uncle decided that was the day they needed to go through all their tools in the living room which we were in and make this very obvious jokes about how each one could kill/maim a man 🙂

May 3, 2018

You are funny!