Briefly…

 
Once again, the season of Lent is upon us.  It’s a time of penance and reflection; a time given to us to redirect our thoughts, from our tedious and often times demanding temporal affairs to the more important and serious affairs of our spiritual souls.  

We work so hard in our life to obtain money, friendship, notoriety, temporal goods, etc., but how many of us work just as hard or harder to obtain the graces of God’s blessings – the graces necessary for salvation?  How much do we love God?  Do we love him above all other things – even above our own selves – as Christ exhorts us to do, or do we just include him in our lives – giving him a passing thought or a few words of thanks each day?  Do we give Him the proper respect and humility of a created being towards his Creator and life sustainer?  Do we remember that the triune God of all creation has a name that is holy, pure and powerful – that should never be spoken without the most loving reverence and humility?  These, and many more things, I’ve been thinking about and contemplating.  

So much can be said for this time of Lent that a mere few words can never do it justice.  

It is my hope and prayer that all of us will take the time to examine our consciences, reflect on the mysteries of our creation and redemption, and amend our lives according to the will of God – our greatest good.  

Because of Lent, I won’t be on here much, but I wanted to put in an update real quick.

I saw my doctor yesterday and I’m happy to say that my blood test came back fairly good.  My diabetes is still under control, my iron and vitamin D levels are finally normal, and my LDL was lower than last time, too!  Doc still wants me to get it lower, however.

I spoke with him about the statin and how I felt it was making my pain worse and he agreed I was probably right.  I asked him about the Red Yeast Rice and he was all for me giving it a try.  He’s given me two months where, at that time, I’ll have another blood test to see how well it’s worked for me.  I’m very hopeful about this!  

As for the low platelet count, he thinks it was probably a fluke.  He sent me down for another blood test to have it checked again, before I left his office.  I should know the results by Monday if I don’t hear anything today.  

Until next time, may you find & receive the graces of peace, joy and humility in Jesus Christ, our Lord and Savior.  

To believe in God is not enough.  Even satan believes in God…

Log in to write a note

I am so glad your tests came back good. I’ve heard good things about Red Yeast Rice.

February 22, 2013

What MD2 said; time to reflect. I certainly am.

February 22, 2013

thinking of you! your last line says it all….. *hugs*

February 24, 2013

Until next time, may you find & receive the graces of peace, joy and humility in Jesus Christ, our Lord and Savior. 🙂

So glad your tests came back positively! See you when you get back!

I’m so behind in my reading of diaries, I am reading this in the middle of Lent. It is good news that you are stabilizing in your health.

May 24, 2013

miss hearing from you.