Outburst about my mother in law

I love my wife’s mother, she is almost a second mom for me by now, but one of the things I really hate in my life is when someone hurts other people for no reason just because she feels superior and my mother in law is doing it all the time.

Just this afternoon I saw her mistreat two uber drivers, at least five family members (relatives of her dead husband –  father of my wife) and even my wife, her own daughter.

She thinks, for no understandable reason, that the fact the she is rich, doctoral level educated and from a bigger city than the one we are living now makes her superior to all the “poor, ignorant, plebean, peasants” around her (me included). She even fake an accent to look more “posh” (but the accent is so fake that everyone knows she has absolutely no class). This fake accent drives me crazy.

I hate the way she talks down to everybody around her, even with me and my wife she talks this way. How can someone be so arrogant and not ever realize it. She’s a widow but now she has a boyfriend and she is only dating him because she can manipulate, control and impose herself over him. Is deplorable to watch them together. She is 52 years old and she calls everyone younger than her “a boy” or “a girl” in order to diminish the other person just for being younger. It’s horrible!!

She is becoming a toxic person and is getting harder and harder being together with her. Just yesterday she went to a dinner with her job colleagues and she spent a bunch of the time this afternoon complaining that she was left out and ignored in last night’s party. Well, with this constant hostile snob attitude is no surprise people is putting her aside and mistreating her back.

My wife forbade me to talk to her about her mother’s behavior cause she thinks this is itself a toxic topic, but the feelings of disappointment, disgust and anger that I am having just for spending an afternoon with my mother in law is consuming me and I need to put this out of my system. I hope I can talk about it and find at least some patient readers here. I know that bring that up is a little toxic, I’m sorry about that but I am really needing this venting talk.

I hope you all have had a better, calmer and peacefuler afternoon than I had.

 

Log in to write a note