Because I’m Hardcore

  • I made carbonara tonight. Noodles, everything, pressed into existence with my own two hands. I MADE freaking pasta!
  • A lady in the store was making silly talk about quality control on the Halloween Candy. “Do YOU do quality control?” she asked me with a glint in her eye. “No, I have self-control.” “How do you get that?” she asked. Without thinking about it I said, “Stabbing yourself on the regular will do it.” “Oh you’re hardcore,” she told me.
  • Tomorrow I head to town and spackle stuff.
  • Tomorrow I have book group. There will be a puppy. Mister J promised.
  • Not hurting has made me lose my bearing. I don’t know how to feel okay.
  • Had lunch with Erda last week and she suggested my house would be a good rental for her. Her new place is pretty wonderful except it’s full of cats and smells of the devil’s cabbage from the street. She’s not strong on reading the room. I must be a good friend because as triggered as I am I didn’t throw myself down on the restaurant floor and kick up a tantrum like a 2-year-old. “I know you wouldn’t mind cats,” she said. No, she doesn’t know that.  Toured one of the local cemeteries after we ate. One of the last gorgeous fall days before bands of real rain arrived. They’ve set the place up like a history lesson. Fascinating and beautiful.
  • Had a new sewer put into Pup’s last week. My mother would have freaked if she saw that yard all torn up. She was good at coming unglued when necessary things had to be done.
  • Got a new electric blanket. Gibson, who is determined to kill me, clawed the old one until I was getting little shocks. Now I can end my day warming up while I watch scammer payback videos. I don’t know why these things go so well together but this is how I get myself to sleep lately.

 

Log in to write a note
October 25, 2022

i mean, you ARE hardcore.

 

October 29, 2022

I’ve never seen a scammer payback video.  I think I would greatly enjoy that, having once been scammed (I was just so innocent I never considered that people would LIE).  You are always in the middle of doing huge things.  I think that says a lot about you.  🙂

December 19, 2022

I mean, making your own pasta is pretty hardcore!