Dishes are flying

First thing this morning I’m loading the dishwasher and break the Seattle cup I got when Pup and I went to the Wet-side years ago. Rats! It wasn’t even a particularly violent act. Just one less thing to care about I suppose.

The payment for the van is in Kentucky. That paperwork is closer to Detroit than when it was sitting on the porch step unopened and waiting for Gibson the cat to pee on it.

Wu wanted to go get his friend in town. That let me collect mail and replenish the milk supply at a local quicky mart. I left the friends monitoring the gas refill and went into the sort of new place for the first time. They advertise weird vape stuff, Kratom, pot stuff, etc. None of that my thing so I wouldn’t usually go in there but a quick empty store with a gallon of milk on the way. Now really its a liquor store. It was like a fortress with outer walls made of booze bottles surrounding anything else that might be food or household items. It physically forced you to circle the whole store if you wanted anything that wasn’t alcohol. I don’t even drink anymore but the design logic was fascinating.

Got bills paid and baked bread for the first time since the beginning of the summer. Delphyna made fun of me 2 years ago when I bought a used (really never used) bread machine at a thrift shop for $3. When would have even guessed this would be one of the most important appliances in the house for this particular year.

Tried to hand the friend a plate of butter and sailed it across the room. Somehow I didn’t break it because predictably it landed butter side down. What the hell is wrong with me today?

Two or three weeks ago I was mooning over Dauphin Island, which is kind of a dumb place to moon over.  The first thing I saw when I returned to civilization was a picture of that place with a little car with its nose buried in the sand from yet another storm. I wasn’t looking for that.  It just put itself there without my asking while I drove into the smoke. Weird.

Unpacking at any destination is also packing up for the next place. No matter how long you think you are staying the departure has already begun. Now I’m very disoriented putting my “go bag” back together as I do laundry and empty the car. Weird things are found in the washer, things you can’t remember ever having to begin with. There’s the shotgun shell though you didn’t have a gun, a jump drive with the lost photos from someone’s family reunion but you didn’t have a computer with you. There are wads of kleenex when you spent the whole week without blowing your nose and wrappers from candy bars you didn’t have on any trip you can remember. Did aliens abduct me at some point? I have no memory to explain some of what was in the washer and dryer. So I’m nearly ready to go wherever I might be headed next but awfully worried there’ll be a long winter between me and the next siren call. Oh, sea reference. Hippy beach maybe?

(Car payment is in Kentucky effers.)

Log in to write a note
September 19, 2020

Wow.  Talk about alternate realities … maybe that’s why you were breaking dishes, you were bouncing between them.

I called my brother a girl today soo… join me! LOL!!!!

September 19, 2020

Your life sounds interesting and energetic !  I used my bread machine this week after avoiding it for 6 years.  My late husband made bread wonderfully in it and my tries were just not as good as the bread he made so…I only felt I wouldn’t cry when using it recently and I was right.  Good memories and good bread.  My best.

September 19, 2020

@sago honestly I couldn’t get it right for years.

 

September 20, 2020

Every time I tried to make any kind of bread I always made what looked like hockey pucks and this was the old fashioned way with no bread maker…so pie crusts and bread is something I will never do…you are lucky you can make bread.

September 20, 2020

i have so so so missed rolling around in your words.

September 21, 2020
September 21, 2020

I’ve always wanted a bread maker. I’m sure I couldn’t make bread right with it, but it would be awesome to learn 🙂

September 21, 2020

I can relate to the dropsies, my phone is my most usual victim lol

I almost planned a trip to Dauphin Island last year, but we went to gulf shoes instead.

Fresh bread sounds good.

September 23, 2020

@cherrywine_1 Dauphin Island isn’t something you plan 😝. It’s someplace you wake up and go “what the heck was I thinking?”

September 22, 2020

I have days like this when it seems that anything in my hands immediately finds its way to the floor!

I’ve never used a bread maker.  I once had a neighbor who made marvelous bread in hers.  Luckily, she always shared.