It Killz ya

  1. The Muskrats let the animals pee on everything. Still wet when we pulled up the carpets. Had to try to get the PM to understand we have to clean and seal the wood floors underneath before we can replace floors. We’re not charging for the new floors we’re charging for having to clean up the filth.
  2. Hot today and the yearly smoke is starting to drift in.
  3. Staying home today to catch up on our own household business.
  4. The rent came. It’s going right back out on repairs but it leaves us even for the windows, utilities, and taxes. Now I have a timeline for getting the project done.
  5. Had to do an invoice for damages. It’s been a while. I was pretty stressed by the time Hubbin rolled in from the school and snarked at me over MY housekeeping after I’d put in a full 8 hours down in my office. I had also driven to town with Wu for some brain magic and made a stop at the house. Even after pulling the kickboards out of the house (still soaking wet with pee) the stairwell stinks to high heaven. The fact that we’ll probably never see a penny AND they did WAY more damage than a landlord is allowed to address means Hubbin should not poke the bear when I had to do what he can’t.
  6. The PM should have been doing a lot of this and it irritates me that I’m paying her to do a job that I am doing and have to get her approval for the final product. She’s a capable gal, I’m not really down on her it’s just the world sometimes gets a bit upside down. Why do we have another person do what I could do just as efficiently? It’s the emotional stuff.
  7. I’m not good with emotional stuff. I can be objective about other people’s stuff. This little yellow house is where Hubby and I started our family. I can’t help but see that house when I’m trying to resurrect what looks like a dump. I’m not a person who wouldn’t fix things. I care about the place. It would be easy to get VERY angry, or worse, let sadness take over and stop me from putting my shoes on each morning.
  8. The Muskrats actually gave a future victim our PM’s # for a rental reference. What do you say? The laws are so skewed against the landlord that simply telling the truth is a sticky thing. I know what I would have said and that probably would have gotten me in trouble. Can you just ask a question like “How do you feel about having a house that smells like pet urine, filth, grease trap, and pot?” or “Do you plan to let them live there for free?” or how about telling them to look the name up online for the County court records? Too much?
Log in to write a note
September 2, 2022

I’m glad that I have a great landlord.

September 2, 2022

I would just say that given the opportunity I wouldn’t rent to them again. I think that’s a legal response, and one that shouldn’t get you into any trouble. But it speaks volumes.

September 4, 2022

I think you can safely say that you wouldn’t rent to them again and leave it at that.

I’m SO SORRY you are left to clean up their filth.  It’s not fair or right but it is what it…was.

You are in my thoughts.