May Day is a Big Damn Deal

Mayday was day the changed the key at the private park. I have not been a member in quite a while. There’s another private park right out my front door with the people there just don’t seem to be a will to keep things up and I’m terrified of becoming some kind of community liability lawsuit when the dock falls into the lake which it looks like it’s about to do. This year we figured the extra money was worth a trip down the road.
So I grab my walking poles and packed my breakfast into my backpack and lifted the 2 miles down to the private park. I had the whole place to myself. At first I thought I had really over dressed when I got there sunny and beautiful and there were little goslings following their parents across the lake. Halfway through breakfast and after a good deal of writing, I look downriver towards the mountains north of us and notice the sky is turning a grumpy bluish tinge. The wind is starting to pick up and I’m starting to feel a bit cold. I decided if I went up the hill away from the water maybe I’d be warmer. That very much wasn’t the case. No sooner do I get all my goodies back out on the picnic table then I realize I have incredibly cold. I think maybe it’s time to turn around and hope it back home. No sooner do I stand up then I feel rain drops blowing in on the wind. Deliberation time begins.

The sweater I thought was too hot for the weather suddenly seems incredibly inadequate. But today was the day I was going to walk to the park and I was going to write and then I was going to walk home. Today was the day that 10,000 steps a day was going to be a thing for the rest of the month. I don’t mind being cold. I don’t mind the rain. But then I got to thinking about being cold and soaking wet and probably having my computer bag sucking up water like a beach towel. If a gully washer let’s go on me things will not go well. I have to concede defeat and call Hubbin for a ride home. He had a chance to show up on his white horse and save me. Well it wasn’t a white horse it was a white truck it was white. And it turns out it was a good thing I did because by the time I got home I was frozen from the inside out. That’s never a good sign because I run hot all the time.

Now I’m cleaning my office on a writing day. I’m too cold to have an attention span. I turned the heater on in my office. It’s a credit to all the cleaning that I’ve done because I can actually turn my heater on without everything you’re going up in a puff of smoke which is one of the main reasons I haven’t been using heater.

Surprise of the day looks like I’ve lost 10 pounds since I quit working. I haven’t even been paying attention. Something weird going on with my fitness tracker. It’s getting weird about updating. At this point it looks like after I watch the evening news I will have to go walk another mile to get all my steps in for the day. I don’t know why am being such a wuss about things lately. I started out feeling strong and tall. I even had a pack on that weighs as much as the weight I lost since I quit working at the agency that dare not speak its name. It didn’t feel bad. I still feel like I have a long way to go in the next 10 months.

Wyoming in September seems like an obstacle I have to get over. I think am actually going to have my poop in a group to the point where I am going to get on track. After Wyoming, Wisconsin in the spring. This stuff’s been brewing for almost 10 years but I never had the ability to make anything happen. Now I feel like I need to hurry or it’s not going to happen but it can happen so it will. The import of part of a pretty good adventure is just start.

Log in to write a note