OOPH!

Where the hell have I been?

I got hyper absorbed in getting my “Trump virus” cure and spiraled down into a hole of navel-gazing that it took a message from my “imaginary friend” to shake loose. That’s a real person. I haven’t actually gone full 5 year old. It’s just the people I’ve surrounded myself with for decades as a means of support have suddenly evaporated in the last year of challenges. The people who actually do seem to “get it” seem kind of like magical fairy folk. Hubbin reminds me who some of these are, bless him, and I explain to him how wonderful that is BUT it’s a time to be careful with those people because you don’t want to become the very thing to someone else, someone important, that got others bumped from the A list.

I had gone up to the North Idaho wilds and contemplated the coming of spring with a steady soundtrack of trains.

I ate pupusas.

I discovered the holy grail of literary submission sites where I could get focussed and finger out what to do with all these words I’ve collected.

I found a printer that actually works so I can hide in my office and not beg favors of Hubbin when I’m trying to be productive. You just plug the damn thing in and it works. Here’s the deal, my office is a dead zone. There may be an Indian burial ground or alien spacecraft buried under that corner of the house. The local public Utility District breached my fortress of undone things a couple of years ago to put in a remote water meter and had to come in again 2 weeks later conceding defeat.

I’ve been puttering away and Pup’s house trying to get my Fathers old man stink out of a very tired house. As soon as I’m buying paint and trying to get things done all 4 of the able-bodied menfolk suddenly lose interest. Wait, not MY “home” fellas. Why are you not even invested in cleaning the epic stack of dishes out of the sink so I can do this. We installed a new dishwasher just so you didn’t have to work at it. Why hasn’t the garbage been cleaned up in over a month? Why should I be afraid to use the bathroom in a house I own? Oh, they are in for a shock when this is done. Taxes and insurance went up while the Governor said we couldn’t evict or raise the rent for over a year. If you plan to treat your mother like a scullery maid I can push back. If you have money for Ecigs and videogames and whatever two nearly 30-year-olds do with their time I’m not eating the cost of stuff you won’t take care of on your own. That place triggers me.

Then I got shot number two on day 366, the Epipandemipocolypsiversary, and it flattens me for 3 days. You name a symptom of the flu and I had it. Everything I touched felt like it was on fire while I shivered and ached and queasied and dizzied. Nobody has talked about this part. I still feel it’s a wonderful and important thing to do because I understand how messenger RNA works. Think about the little tape recorder from Mission Impossible that gives a set of instructions and then self-destructs. I still have swollen lymph nodes to remind me that my immune system is busy at work. No actual virus was harmed in the making of this new and improved Omega Woman but don’t mess with me spike protein! I will eff you up!

At least I hope so.

 

 

Log in to write a note
March 18, 2021

glad  your  back

March 19, 2021

I had symptoms after my 2nd shot, but nowhere near as bad as yours.

Jon
March 19, 2021

I’m sorry that your symptoms after the shot were awful. I am blessed that I didn’t have any symptoms after both shots.

March 31, 2021

A friend of mine felt pretty bad for a couple of days after the second shot. I get mine tomorrow and have already prepared my family for the possibility of me being out of commission for at least part of the weekend. It’ll be interesting….