GETTING OLD IS THE PITS!

What do I mean,”getting old” I AM OLD LOL   and keep getting older. Ever since I turned 70 (3 yrs ago) things just keep getting wrong with my body. My eyes have gone worse, my right ear is always stopped up, I have a sinus infection 85 % of the time, I have a little knot in my tummy, I keep having terrible headaches so bad that I can’t see, and I hurt all over. OH I know I could be lots worse believe me. My best friend died of MS, MY mother had stomach cancer and my cousin has to have a breathing machine /7 so I’m not so bad. Its just that until I turned 70 I was a go gitter, going places and doing fun things all the time. Friends kept asking me, how do you keep going all the time? I was overweight and had fibro, heck I still have those problems but they didn’t slow me down. Now I have to do house work just a little at a time and rest, take a nap during the day, and have no energy. And this makes me SMAD… sad and mad.   I use to tell my counselor that I don’t want to get old and I didn’t act lke a senior citizen but here I am and there’s not much I can do about it. Just be thankful for what I do have, and as that prayer says, accept the things I can’t change. 

I fell a few months ago, so when I went to my Dr I was able to answer yes when the nurse asked have you fallen lately? I was leaving work at 9 am walking out to my car when suddenly I just fell forward down an all fours, well not my left hand because I was holding my little dog.  I landed on both knees, then down to the ground with my right wrist and arm, then picked my puppy up and made sure he was ok, then just went plumb backwards on my rear end! And there I set with my lets straight in front of me when the girls I keep came outside. I could tell my legs, knees and right arm hurt really bad but not enough to call ER. However, we all had to laugh because I was having a heck of a time trying to get up. There are teenagers that are overweight also so trying to pull me up was a flop. Thank goodness to my years of dancing that I was still able to put my toes underneath me, and pull myself up, but it hur like a bad dog!!  The palm of my hand turned purple and black within a few minutes and  oh boy did it hurt when I tried to walk to my car, but once I sat down it was better.  The next day I went to my Dr and told him the story and showed him what a bruised Turtle looks like 🙂   He took xrays and nothing was broken or anything so he just said use tylenol and cold packs. Its all better now except for the third finger y right hand, the one I landed on, still van’t hold it out straight. And yes it hurts to type, but I do 🙂

Well, guess thats my medical report for tonight lol  I might be getting real old, but I still stay up late and sleep late in the mornings  lol

Sweet dreams, and May God Bless.  Hugs from Turtle~

Log in to write a note
April 24, 2019

I’m glad you weren’t seriously hurt. That sounds like a very nasty fall.

April 24, 2019

Glad you are ok. Staying active is key!

April 24, 2019

I saw you on the front page. I can totally relate. I turned 75 last October.  I am seeing some of the things you mentioned, too. Brain fogs at times, as well. I hate those. But, like you, I am thankful for the things I DON”T have!!! God bless !!

April 24, 2019

I feel like I am already seeing so many changes at 36, I can’t imagine how I’ll feel when I get to the 70s. I remember my grandpa was the youngest soul, sometimes seemed “younger” than me haha and when he got to his 70s, he had a lot of issues. But none of us are free from that.

I don’t find it to be fair. As we grow more mature and learn lessons, we should be rewarded, right? I take such better care of myself now, but I have all of these little issues. My younger self partied hard, didn’t sleep much, and had all of the energy. It’s just not fair. I can’t even imagine how I’ll feel the first moment I fall and feel like I really don’t have control, because I’m sort of a control freak, so I am sorry, my friend.

I also feel like time keeps going faster and faster. BUT there is still the mind stuff. I couldn’t go back to not knowing the things that I know today, and that, I feel like improves more and more, the older I get. I’ve made some stupid mistakes in the past. Anyway, I hope you feel better soon, and I’m glad nothing serious happened. <3