Living With Fibromyalgia

There is a good book out called “You Don’t Look Sick” that best describes what Fibromyalgia is all about. Its different for every person affected, some worse then others, but all the same, one person’s pain hurts just as much to that person as the other does. Many Doctors don’t believe it in & say “its all in your head”, and it is, but its all in your body too. Everything is affected. Its like having the flu 24/7.

I was part of the group who went to the Texas State Capital & signed a document making it National Awareness Day which was pretty special since it was only a word before then.

If you have, or know someone with this illness, lets talk. It always helped being apart of a group for me, as just knowing I wasn’t alone really ment alot.

Gentle hugs from Turtle~

Log in to write a note
February 12, 2018

I have a very close friend who used to be on OD who has fibro. I certainly believe it is real. I have Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma and I wouldn’t trade it for fibro, ever. I wish you well. Did you post this to the chronic illness circle on OD?

February 13, 2018

@altair Yes, I did post this on that circle but it ends up on front page anyway lol

February 13, 2018

That’s gotta be so frustrating! I do believe that emotions and our mind can cause health issues, but then they are physical, so hello, help people in pain anyway! I’m so sorry you have to deal with this. *hugs*

February 13, 2018

I have it.

February 13, 2018

I hate fibro 😪

February 15, 2018

I have it. I had to telecommute today, because I used too many spoons yesterday. I am still not better. It is like I am out of breath, I have a fever, my body hurts, I am just weak. Its terrible.

February 16, 2018

My niece has it. Just knowing how her flare ups affected her, I wish you the best.

February 16, 2018

gentle hug!

Thank you.

I’ve had this for over 15 yrs. (now that I’m 50 it’s kicking it up a notch). I always wake up thinking “am I getting the flu or is it just fibro”

😉

and I can’t tell which would be better? “feel like I’m getting the flu” or actually getting the real flu and feeling better in a week. 😉 (oh yeah, I wouldn’t I’d just continue to feel like I was sick)

February 26, 2018

I have a different invisible illness but because I have a family member with fibro I see that there are elements of things that are similar. The lack of understanding about why you might need ‘recovery’ time from a day of fun. The inability to understand that just because you look perfectly fine it doesn’t mean you’re not in pain or running on empty. In general I’m fortunate that I still have a lot more good days than bad but I do appreciate how debilitating and frustrating the bad days can be.

March 1, 2018

I have a couple of friends at my slimming group that have it.sounds bad. I am just so grateful for my health.

March 2, 2018

Hello and thank you for your comment on my diary. Fibromyalgia – my sister and third daughter have been diagnosed with this. My daughter also has probable Lupus which means that she has a very limited diet in order to control her symptoms. Hope you get the support you need in order to manage your symptoms. Much care, ~A~

March 2, 2018

Whenever someone says “you don’t look sick” I always have the perfect comeback:

“You don’t look ignorant, and yet here we are.”