Early 20’s

I don’t care what anyone says… being in your early 20’s SUCKS!

There’s so much pressure and so many decisions to make. It’s a constant struggle between trying to get your shit together but also not rushing into a decision that you’re going to regret. College, grad school, internships, working adult jobs… it’s a lot. Especially when you still want to take vacations and maintain a social life. How are we supposed to balance it all without losing our minds?!

 

I have my bachelors degree and now I am in the process of searching for a good grad school program. I’m also working a full time job in my field. I’m just like… how am I going to work this adult job where I have to work even when I’m not working while ALSO taking grad school classes?! How do I know what grad school program is going to be right for me?? Online classes? In person classes? A combination of the two? Which school? How am I going to pay for it? It’s just so much to think about and figure out. It truly is an overwhelming process. I know it’ll be worth it in the long run but damn am I stressed out right now…

giphy gif

Log in to write a note
October 1, 2018

Try not to think about the millions of things you have to do tomorrow, a week from now, a month from now, or a year from now. It helps to focus on the present and what you can do now instead of the millions of things you feel you should be doing in X amount of time.

October 1, 2018

@blueboy I try but sometimes it’s just hard! Ya know?

kat
October 1, 2018

seems like every age has its good things and bad…. and when you get to be my age you don’t worry about money but you worry about health ERRRR

October 1, 2018

Just a note to say welcome to the Diary!

October 1, 2018

@dlk082244 thank you 🙂

October 1, 2018

The best advice i can give you is make sure whatever job you do get that you love it so you will stick with it for the long hall.  It will also help if your boss will give you the time you need to go to school.  Most bosses love that idea.  And I would just be getting a job and going to school…everything else will come eventually and don’t stress.

October 1, 2018

@jaythesmartone right! I love what I am doing right now and can’t wait to be able to move up in the field! My job is very lenient with hours and clients so I could cut back if needed (but I need the money). Luckily the schedule is very flexible so I can make it work 🙂

October 1, 2018

Welcome to OD!

Just wait till you hit the big “Four-oh”!  Then you can add crunchy knees and worrying about your retirement planning to your list of stresses.  🙂