You’re my favourite thing – one that I love

The best concert by far has ended. Going on two days since Silverchair finally graced my eyes and ears. Truth be told, I still cant believe it. Im just in this state of complete and total contentness. It’s rather odd, but I feel completely that and satisfied, accomplished. Twelve years in the waiting and these Aussie boys made what has been by far the best night of my life. I cant begin to explain just how wonderful it was to finally see Silverchair. It was and will be the best concert ever. I cant believe it I saw Silverchair! I can’t believe that Daniel Johns, Ben Gillies and Chris Joannu finally were in my prescence.

When they came out, I felt that infinite feeling come over me right along with the feeling that I wanted to cry. Here I was at the House of Blues, seeing this band, that has changed along the years, growing up as I have, growing musically. The band that has no idea how much they helped save my life. The song Ana’s Song (Open Fire) has the most meaning to me over any song they’ve ever released. It relates to me in a way that relates no other way that no song can. Here I am a mere fifteen feet at the most from Daniel Johns. Taking pictures, completely shocked Im standing at this venue seeing them live. It’s been the highlight of the year, made me feel quite complete and right now I’m honestly happy, I feel like I do after meeting Hunter from AFI and seeing them again. Only this is so much better. This is Silverchair,the one band that has my heart and soul and has had since 1995.

I knew they would play Ana’s Song (Open Fire) and I knew what would happen when it began to play. Sure enough as if on cue when the song began, tears welled in my eyes. I felt myself shaking, I was singing along and tears falling from my eyes. It’s truly a beautiful song about his struggle with anorexia. To hear that song live, to hear Daniel’s voice, knowing the meaning of the song, and what it means to me. I simply couldnt help it.

I do have to admit this song doesn’t relate to me in the same way it did for Daniel, for one I wasn’t anorexic, that being what this song is about. Instead I relate to it in the aspect of my cutting issue. It was you could say my “anorexia”. I could relate to it in that aspect. It was my obession, the one thing that left me with scars, it was something I thought I needed, that took over my life. Cutting. And while Daniel has made a wonderful recovery, as I have, we both have accomplished something that once tore us apart and down.

Now getting back to the concert. Other songs played were: Israel’s Son, Emotion Sickness, The Door, Straight Lines, The Greatest View, Tuna in the Brine, Reflections of a Sound, If You Keep Losing Sleep, Those Thieving Birds, Insomnia and the encore was Freak. Daniel was downright adorable. I truly loved the things he did with the guitar, and how he smiled when he did. That man’s got a very beautiful smile. He should really smile more often. I did get that smile captured by the way. In fact I think I took well over one hundred pictures at the concert. His jokes were hilarious and we all laughed. I really loved of course hearing that accent of his. Not to mention he got a kick out of certain little things. It truly was funny to see the little things that he loved to hear from us. I really loved the way he said “New Orleans”. Hearing that in my mind again, just made me laugh. It was hella cute and well hearing him say it. He really was great live as well as Ben and Chris.

I wont let this fade, I wont forget. I have to see them again, but right now Im happy to have seen them once. Even if I never see them again, Im okay with that. Finally the one band that’s meant the most to me for the past twelve years I’ve seen live. I can smile and look back and realize this was beyond one of the best moments of my life.

Log in to write a note
November 19, 2019