Mondays Do Deserve to Step on Legos

6 weeks. 

I don’t know why time kept marching on. I begged it not to. But here we are. 6 weeks later. I found a post, one of my “on this day” posts where I was telling Monday that it could go step on a lego. You defended Monday. I laughed until I cried at the irony of that post. The universe and its jokes. 

It hasn’t been easy this 6 weeks.  My birthday is right around the corner and I don’t want to think about how I won’t get a text from you. How I won’t be able to think about being brave and calling you and asking if your sister could bring you down so I could see you. How normally, I’d be figuring out something awesome to do because I love my birthday. Instead, I have to put on my brave face and smile as real as I can and hope no one calls me on it.

All these things. The milestones will get bigger. I’ll blink and we will be at your birthday and I’ll weep. Again and it will be Yule and again I will weep. Our daughter’s 25th birthday. Our son’s graduation and 18th birthday. The days that disappeared like a slate being erased .. the days I wanted to happen.

6 weeks. I miss you. I love you. I never want to forget these things.

Log in to write a note
September 25, 2018

Try thinking of all the good times to get you through.