Bourbon Barrel Aged Syrup

It was a late night at the sugar house last night. We didn’t finish until nearly midnight. Not like the old days when boiling went on all night but long for present day sugaring.  The reason things went on so long is that the sap kept on running and running all day. The temps hit the low 40’s and the sun came out here and there. So, we finished up the night with nearly 60 gallons of syrup from nearly 3000 gallons of sap.

The fun part of the night was our new project – Bourbon Barrel Aged Syrup! Our friend, Tim, suggested it and was able to acquire a barrel. These are a hot commodity, you need to have a contact in order to get them. It’s especially hard to get the good ones from distilleries like Woodford Reserve. We filled it up with hot syrup right from the evaporator and over the next 4 months it gets infused with the flavor from the bourbon/ barrel. It’s a specialty item that commands a premium price so it will help keep our operation in the black.  (The bulk price for syrup is set by Quebec and with the exchange rate it’s at a low level, historically.)

This morning I went to check things out and there was a half teaspoon of syrup on the floor that had “weeped” from the barrel. I dipped my finger in it and it tasted fabulous! I was initially sceptical that very much bourbon flavor would make it into the syrup but now I’m convinced. I guess it makes sense given the amount of time the bourbon was in the barrel.

Now we have 4 months to brainstorm ideas for labels, bottle shape (12 oz size) and develop our “story” to print on the back. Maybe I’ll post concepts in a future entry.  Any ideas out there readers?

Namaste

Log in to write a note
March 13, 2018

I don’t have any ideas but love the barrels

March 13, 2018

With maple syrup being a “northern” product, and bourbon a “southern” tradition, something along the lines of Mason-Dixon Maple could be fun.  The Mason–Dixon line symbolizes a cultural boundary between the North and the South (Dixie),

March 14, 2018

@bedlamhillfarm Nice thought. Thanks

March 14, 2018

I’ve been to Woodford Reserve and saw their three still process in action.  Good choice!  Bourbon barrels are in high demand (and expensive), so good on you for getting one.

Trader Joe’s came out with a Bourbon Barrel Aged Maple Syrup a year or two ago and I became obsessed with it.  But it’s only out for short periods of time, so I stock up whenever I see it.  I put it in my coffee, in my overnight oats, and just about anything I want to make a little sweeter.  Definitely put your story on there to make it more personal and maybe suggestions of other foods it would enhance (seriously, in coffee it’s fab!).  I think you’ve got a hit there.  👍

March 14, 2018

My mouth is watering! Really. I love maple. But add an infusion of bourbon? C’mon! I’m in heaven!

Building on @BedlamHillFarm – “Rebel-Yankee Maple”?

March 14, 2018

This is the coolest project!

March 15, 2018

When the bourbon barrel syrup is done, can I buy some?  I miss the syrup I used to help my uncle make when I was a kid — and the crap you get in grocery stores is never good enough.

March 18, 2018

@singer We’ll have plenty for sale starting in late July.  I have regular syrup available all the time. We ship it but the cost can be a deterrent. I use USPS priority mail boxes because the weight usually makes UPS more expensive. A medium box can hold 2 half gallons and it runs $60 including shipping. A large box can hold 12 pints. That one ships for$110.

It’s less attractive ship smaller quantities bit I can look into it.