Cabin Floor Insulated

Here is a selfie of me in front of the cabin floor with the insulation in place. I tacked some small blocks of wood to the inside of each floor joist to hold the 2″ thick foam insulation. It’s not insulated to northern Vt standards but it should be fine for allowing the building to serve as a warming hut on cold winter days.

 

Here is another picture without me standing in the way. There are lots of trees around so the shade makes taking clear pictures difficult (for me). Anyway, the floor boards are cut and ready to be put on this week.

Meanwhile, I just finished up the three remaining posts. I have now milled all of the timbers for the structural parts of the cabin.  And I have carved and finished all of them except for one more tie beam and one top plate.  I’ll finish those next and then start work on the roof rafters.  That will be the last of the timbers needed for the October cabin raising party!

I thought I had a lot of boards cut for the floor, walls and roof but now I see that I don’t have anywhere near enough. I probably don’t have 25% of them cut so I need to get some more logs cut and processed on the sawmill.  I’ll do what I can but I can also have logs ready and get one of the October helpers to run the sawmill at the last minute.

Namaste

Log in to write a note
kat
August 4, 2019

looks like it is going to be so pretty! love cabins

 

August 5, 2019

I never thought of insulating the floor of the cabin but now that I think of it, makes sense!  I’ll have to mention this to my boys who are building a small one room cabin on our island.