Floor Timbers Assembled

Here is one corner of the assembled floor timbers. These are 8″x8″. The timber on the bottom has a tenon (tongue) that is 5 inches long inserted into a mortise cut into the timber at the top.  The wooden dowel is one inch in diameter and pounded in at assembly. I was very pleased with how tight the joint came together.  🙂

 

 

Here is the rough assembly before the pegs are driven in all the way. You can see the them in place sticking out at each corner. My brother, Gerry, is getting ready to square the assembly up using a ratchet and strap.

Here is the image of the finished assembly. The floor joists just lay into the cutouts in the major timbors. Next I’ll put insulation in and then the floor.

I was very pleased at how the assembly came together. It fitt nice and tight but the two of us were able to bring it together without the use of any heavy equipment or ratcheting. I was fairly confident that everything would fit but since this was my first attempt at timber framing I was a little nervous.

It was a good day!

 

Log in to write a note
June 23, 2019

Amazing – I’m really enjoying watching this come together!  Well done!

 

June 23, 2019

Following along….k