House Survey

The house survey…

DO YOU LIVE IN A HOUSE OR AN APARTMENT?

A house. We built our retirement home (round) in 2011

WOULD YOU SAY IT IS BIG OR SMALL?

It’s big but not huge. 2400 sq ft on the main floor

DO YOU HAVE A WELCOME MAT?

Yes

DOES IT SAY SOMETHING?

I had to go check. It says Welcome. Unique, huh?

DO YOU HAVE A DISHWASHER OR DO YOU HAVE TO DO YOUR DISHES BY HAND?

Dishwasher

HOW MANY PLANTS DO YOU HAVE INSIDE?

None. The last cat died recently so I can now remedy that.

DO YOU HAVE A SPECIAL PLACE THAT YOU PUT YOUR KEYS?
I leave them in the car, in the garage. There is a key holder on the wall in the mud room. I’m kind of anal about having a place for everything.

IS YOUR REFRIGERATOR STOCKED WITH ANYTHING?

Always lots of dairy – Fage yogurt,sour cream,cottage cheese (Cabot, of course), milk and Silk. There is a selection of salad dressings, homemade jams, and homemade pickled things.

WHERE DO YOU KEEP YOUR BREAD?

In the refridgerator

IS YOUR BATHROOM CLEAN?

Yes. My wife spends a lot of time there! ha ha  She has high standards.

WHAT IS YOUR BATHROOM’S THEME?

Master bath is red and black with Eiffel tower on the shower curtain

HOW MANY RUGS DO YOU HAVE IN YOUR DWELLING SPACE?

Two hand-made braided rugs from my mother and three others

DO YOU KNOW YOUR NEIGHBORS?
Very well. I grew up with them. There are three households – my sister, my mother and us. There is one other house at the start of the road. They are like extended family

ARE THERE ANY STRAY CATS AROUND?

No

DO YOU HAVE A DVD PLAYER IN YOUR BEDROOM?

No

WHICH ROOM WOULD YOU SAY YOU SPEND THE MOST TIME IN?

We have an open floor plan. So there is only one. But, actually, I spend most of my time outdoors so I guess the bedroom.

DO YOU HAVE A POOL OR JACUZZI WHERE YOU LIVE?

No

WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE DVD THAT YOU OWN?

How the Grinch Stole Christmas (Boris Karloff version)

HOW ABOUT YOUR FAVORITE CD THAT YOU OWN?

Wow, hard to pick. Maybe James Taylor’s Greatest Hits

WHERE IS YOUR STEREO OR RADIO LOCATED IN YOUR HOME?

Right in the middle of the great room

DO YOU HAVE A COFFEE MAKER?

One Keurig and one Hamilton Beach brew station. Plus we have a spare of each. Not sure why

DO YOU HAVE AN AREA DESIGNATED FOR ALCOHOL?

I only pull the liquor out when we have people over. I serve it at the end of the counter. Otherwise I keep it in the cupboard.

HOW MANY TELEVISIONS DO YOU HAVE?

One

DO YOU HAVE STAIRS?

Only to the “basement” Although it is finished and if we have more than one guest they stay down there.

 

WHAT KIND OF STUFF DO YOU HAVE ON YOUR WALLS?

Lots of stuff from my international travels, my wife’s artwork, and animal photos

WHERE DO YOU KEEP YOUR TOOTHPASTE?

Top drawer in bathroom. I use a prescription toothpaste at night and keep that on the counter next to my Philips Sonicare.

DO YOU HAVE A DEN OR AN OFFICE?
My office is in the basement. I rarely use it now that I’m retired.

DO YOU LIVE CLOSE TO ANY STORES?
No, we live in the country. The nearest city is 10 miles. For any real selection we need to drive half an our.

DO YOU HAVE A WALK IN CLOSET AND IF NOT WOULD YOU LIKE TO HAVE ONE?
We have one. My wife takes it all. I keep my clothes in the spare bedroom closet

DO YOU HAVE ANYTHING HANGING FROM THE CEILING?
Ceiling fans in every room, a stainless pot rack above the island along with some bright yellow globular lights my wife had to have.

DOES YOUR KITCHEN HAVE A THEME?
Not really

IS IT A PAIN TO DUST YOUR LIVING SPACE?
Yes! My wife is a collector. The cleaners get most of it but we still need to do some.

WHAT’S UNDER YOUR BED?
Nothing.

DO YOU HAVE A GAME SYSTEM?
No.

HOW MANY TELEPHONES ARE IN YOUR HOME?
One in the main room, one in the master bath and one in the basement. Plus our 2 cell phones

DO YOU HAVE A FIREPLACE AND IF SO DO YOU USE IT OFTEN?
No, we have a Vermont Castings wood stove I use daily for heat for 6 months of the year.

WHAT KIND OF MICROWAVE DO YOU HAVE?
We have two. A whirlpool above the range and a yellow one my wife had to have

DO YOU HAVE ANY FIGURINES OF ANGELS AROUND?
No, we’re more free thinkers

DO YOU LIKE TO OPEN THE BLINDS OR CURTAINS OR KEEP THEM SHUT?
I only have blinds on the few windows that need privacy. Bedroom and bath. Otherwise – let the sun shine in!

HOW MANY COMPUTERS ARE IN YOUR DWELLING SPACE?
My desktop at workstation (where I’m typing now). We each have a tablet and kindle also.

WHAT COMPANY DO YOU USE FOR INTERNET ACCESS AND HOW MUCH DOES IT COST?
No cable out here so we’re stuck with Verizon wireless for internet. I pay $175 per month for our phones and internet (includes my son’s phone too so I should deduct $50). That is when I don’t go over our data limit. When that happens my bill regularly goes over $200

Log in to write a note
March 14, 2018

Do you have pictures of your round home?

March 18, 2018

@trunorth I’ll edit the post and add one. Good idea