Skiing and Spending Justin’s Inheritance

Yesterday I got out and skied all the way to Austin Rd and back. RT about five miles. That is the furthest I’ve gone north on the VAST trail (Vt Association of Snow Travelers, their trail goes about a mile across our property).The conditions were perfect. Temperature was in the low twenties with light SW winds. The day before I skied for about 2 hours on our own property. I ended up doing nearly all the trails on the property.

I love my new backcountry skis. I can believe how much control I have on hills, in deep powder and on the erratic snow machine trail. I should have bought them years ago. I don’t know why I didn’t. Probably because the cost twice as much as the regular X-C equipment.

I have always been frugal. I know I have an entry on this from years ago. We grew up poor so I went to engineering school, got a good steady job for 35 years with the same company, lived below our means and saved everything we could. This allowed us to retire at age 57 (4 years ago). Now I don’t have to worry about money as long as we’re reasonable about things. We can’t go out and by a yacht, but we can travel as much as we want and don’t have to wonder if we can afford routine stuff. When I was still saving for retirement I would watch expenses very closely.  Now I’m really spending my sons’ inheritance so …. spend away!  Ha ha

 

Namaste

Log in to write a note
February 12, 2018

I am one of your old readers from back in OD days. Nice to see that you are able to afford a comfortable retirement.