Tooth Trouble

I just had my left lower furthest back molar worked on. Dr. Linda took a little but off the opposing tooth as well as the problem one. My bit was off and touching first causing me pain. Now everything feels normal in that area. Still some tenderness on the tooth but this is expected from a “sprain”.

It all started last October when I first started experiencing pain. It was sharp enough and lasted several days so I went to the dentist. They took X-rays and concluded that it was just a sprain. I had been eating dried fruit and nut mix and some of them were very hard. He told me to chew on the right side, eat soft food and take Advil plus Tylenol. – Side note – my surgeon said the same thing. Apparently the advil reduces inflammation while the Tylenol is a pain reliever. They both told me that the ideal arrangement is to take both. The dentist recommended 3 advil and on ES Tylenol. –  The pain diminished over the coming weeks but I kept hitting the back teeth together. It would happen even when I would talk. The pain would vary. Some days there was not pain and other days it was sore. Chewing on it made it worse and sometimes in the morning I would wake up sore.

I had a very slight adjustment done when I had my normal January cleaning. Then I went back in 3 weeks late for another adjustment. I had them take very little off and each time was a little better but there was still clearly a high spot on the troublesome tooth. Yesterday Dr. Linda ordered X-rays again and she said that it was possible that I might need a root canal done! She thinks that the tooth nerve could be dying. She showed me the chart but it is really fuzzy and even she was not sure. After the adjustment she said that she was 80% sure it would be OK but 20% chance that I would need to go see an oral surgeon. We’ll see.

Namaste

Log in to write a note