Recent Events and Another Project

I’ve been reading a book called How to Read Literature Like a Professor, and a lot of things in there are obvious, but there’s a lot of good information. One thing it pointed out that I already knew but didn’t think about much before was how much literature draws on Shakespeare, so I’m going to be adding a movie list to my reading lists and go through some Shakespeare adaptations to become more familiar with Shakespeare’s work in general. Last night we watched Hamlet, the Mel Gibson version, and it was confusing and unintentionally humorous, and I enjoyed it. I loved Glenn Close and Helena Bonham Carter, and I was delighted to see Pete Postlethwaite in there. I’m also working on Much Ado About Nothing from 1993 with Kenneth Branagh and Emma Thompson, I have seen Much Ado performed before and am fond of Beatrice.

My copy of the Mabinogian came in, and that will be my first book on my Arthurian legend reading list so I’m looking forward to being done with the book club book The Female Persuasion, as I am already quite over it, and moving on to something interesting. I’ll be moving on with my witch list as well and soon as I finish my literature book. I may not be starting school this term, but I’m certainly keeping myself busy.

Also last night we had tickets from Reed’s work for the Oregon Symphony again, and while the seats weren’t great it was still a good performance. We met up with my old friend Kurtus afterward, who was there for his birthday, and got cocktails with him and his wife and family at the Hotel Deluxe. I had a Spanish coffee to wake up a little and Kurtus mostly engaged me in coversation, so Reed entertained the rest of the table with tales from Louisiana. We had a nice time, though, and the hotel was very beautiful and glamorous, we had never been there before. Apparently the bar is very popular in the area, having been used in a few movies.

Today is BOOK CLUB DAY for my normal book club! We have a Lady Baltimore cake and two people bringing homemade switchel to enjoy while we discuss A Northern Light, by Jennifer Donnelly, one of my favorite books. I’m also expecting a good turnout as there has been increase interest in this book and in the book club in general, so I’m hoping it will be a big success.

Log in to write a note
April 28, 2018

I love the Kenneth Branagh version of Much Ado, it’s hilarious.  But the one thing that always bothered me about the story, though, was the cruelness of Claudio and how easily manipulated he was.  It bothered me so much that I remember writing a paper in my college Shakespeare class titled, “Forgiving Claudio.”  I don’t remember if I ever came to a good conclusion on that.

April 29, 2018

@kellzbellz omg I know! He was all like, “Of course she’s a terrible slut!” when moments ago he was professing his undying love….geez