The Female Persuasion

Yesterday evening was our book club discussion of The Female Persuasion, we had a surprisingly better turn out than I expected, and everyone was talkative and actively engage in the discussion. Considering how much I didn’t like the book, I did realize it was an excellent choice because it gave us a lot to talk about, in particular about women and feminism. We also had a great combination of older and younger women, and I loved listening to the older women tell us about their struggles as women in the 60s or 70s. It was also nice with the younger women there because I wanted to know about their feelings on the book and if they related to the younger character at all or not. The older women, to my pleasant surprise, did not relate to the character Faith or her decisions despite being in the same age group. I think the discussion was pretty successful.

Log in to write a note
May 3, 2018

My son didn’t really like the book either.  I did.  Fun to hear how your discussion went.

May 3, 2018

I have a tendancy to read real life books, like Perry mason and CSI and ID type books…..

September 21, 2018

I really enjoyed the book.