Transitioning into Fall

I made a more comprehensive preparation list for fall/winter, and made it into two lists: one for preparing and one for coping/self-care should I get seasonal depression. I did all of my preparation except for making some keto zuchinni bread, which I will still probably do. Hopefully I can make several and freeze some. It is very nice to have something like sweet bread for breakfast with my coffee that isn’t full of carbs and sugar.

I cleaned out my car, my bag, my closets, my room, my computer, and the kitchen and living room. Clutter tends to let the depression/frustration in faster. I also bought a planner  to help give my days and weeks more structure, and make procrastination lists of stuff not to procrastinate about. I got new, proper cotton bedsheets instead of the awful polyester ones I had and washed all my bed linens and blankets. I got a beautiful long, black sweater that I love. We booked my birthday trip to Port Townsend for the first week of November so we’ll be up there relaxing when the clocks change. I’ve also been going to the gym more regularly and scheduling when I can go in my planner. I’m as ready for the transition into fall/winter as I can be. 

October is going to be a busy month. We have two DnD meetings and three book clubs. I’m doing a YA book club for The Hate U Give on Oct. 4th, the regular book club for Hank Green’s An Absolutely Remarkable Thing on October 24th, and my Vintage Books book club is doing Eleanor and Hick on October 21st. I think I’m also helping with an Erin Hunter author event on Oct. 9th but I’m not sure about that yet. On October 20th I’ll be doing the Season of the Witch craft faire, where I’ll be selling my voodoo dolls. I have about 25 voodoo dolls made so far, hoping to get to at least 30 before then. We already have a table, tablecloth, display boxes, etsy page, and square reader for my phone. Now I just need to make some business cards, I’ll have to add that to my no-procrastination list! Anyway, by the time October is over I’m going to be ready for that trip to Port Townsend. We’re also planning a March trip to New Orleans again, Reed has a wedding to go to and I’m going to drive over to Mississippi to visit family. 

I’ve currently been reading An Absolutely Remarkable Thing by Hank Green. So far I haven’t gotten into it yet and it seems pretty plot-driven but I’m hanging in there. I just finished reading The Hate U Give and it was wonderful and the author, Angie Thomas, is from Mississippi. I have the very long and possibly dry Eleanor and Hick to start on after Hank Green, but I have some more Toni LP Kelner’s I want to get to and Uprooted, by Naomi Novik that I’ve heard a lot about. I just need to read faster. A lot of new TV has come back so we’ll be watching new episodes of The Good Place and DWTS and Bob’s Burgers. I’ve been watching through Downton Abbey as well, and started watching the new show Forever with Maya Rudolph and Fred Armisen on Amazon, which has been interesting, beautiful, and unexpected. 

I have today and tomorrow off before a long stretch of work so I’m going to try to make the best of them and check some things off my procrastination list but also try and relax some as well. 

Log in to write a note
October 1, 2018

wow…what a busy month or so…I wish I could be so busy…I know the time will fly by fast….