bar stuff

well i don’t feel like writing considering i spent all day writing essays. People have asked me how difficult the bar really is. And if it really is as hard as people say. I look like a zombie right now. Basically, you have to memorize all of the laws of all of the jurisdictions for civil procedure, constitutional law, contracts, criminal law, criminal procedure, evidence, property, torts, agency, partnerships, corporations, conflicts of law, family law, secured transactions, wills, and trusts.

You take a class. No, sorry. You pay thousands of dollars for a class. The classes used to be in person but now they’re all online. You study 8+ hours a day for months, then you take the test.

I’m in a UBE state, a uniform bar state. There are 3 different sections for the test: MEEs, MPTs, and MBEs. The bar is two days.

In my jurisdiction you have 6 MEEs and 2 MPTs day one. That means 6 essays. Some essays have multiple topics, some essays have subparts you have to answer. In the essays they give you a long hypothetical. You need to identify all of the issues, all of the applicable rules, analyze those rules with the situation they give you, and then give a conclusion. Approximately 30 minutes per essay.

In the MPTs they give a booklet in a fictional state with real or fictional laws and you have a case that you have to draft a memo/brief/motion or something for. 90 minutes per MPT.

Day 2 is all multiple choice.  6 hours.

 

All that studying and the essays felt impossible. They were so hard. I did not do well. I keep having to remind myself not to think about them, about what I wrote or what I missed.

Please please please let tomorrow be easier.

Log in to write a note
February 24, 2021

Wow just reading your post about the essay tests and such really overwhelmed me. Holy crap. I wish you luck tomorrow all you can do is do the best you can.

March 2, 2021

@itsjustmarina thank you!

February 24, 2021

That is an incredibly short amount of time to do each essay.  IRL it has to take awhile.  But maybe not.  Knock ’em dead today.  😎

March 2, 2021

@tracker2020 Oh it does take much longer in real life. The bar is, as my friend says, a hazing ritual.