The housing market sucks

Wow, it’s been a couple weeks since I’ve written anything.

I’m starting to really stress out about my living situation. Our lease is up in June and baby is due in August. The problem is… we can’t fucking afford ANYTHING right now. It’s not because we’re not making decent money. It’s because the housing market is INSANE and since 1200 sqft homes are selling for over 500k, rent prices are crazy too.

I wanna buy a house. I feel like that’s the best course of action. My parents want us to rent a house. They want us rent because they want us to stay in this area so we can stay close to them. Don’t get me wrong, I love this area and love being close to them but there’s not a single house in this area selling for less than 600k. NOT ONE. There’s a couple homes to rent but those are renting for 3000/month. We cannot afford that. My parents said that they’re willing to help us and pay for half of the rent… That still doesn’t make sense to me. Sure that’ll help us afford it, but we’re still going to have the expenses of a house without owning a house, and when our lease for that is up, we’re going to be screwed too. Also, looking at places to rent NOW doesn’t make sense since I’m likely stuck in this lease until June. But looking later doesn’t make sense either because homes to rent are extremely limited and each one has a bunch of applicants already, so there’s no guarantee we’re going to get it, not to mention house prices KEEP GOING UP.

I don’t want to rent another apartment. First, we got ours in the beginning of COVID while everything was shut down so we locked the rent in CHEAP. Which mean, any other apartment we try to rent will be at least double the price of this one. And I don’t want to stay here. Not only is our place too small and very impractical our neighbors are extremely annoying. One of them plays guitar with an amp at random ass hours and our place SHAKES. We’ve called the complex, security, and the police and nothing has been done. We’ve also politely asked them to turn it down and offered to buy them headphones. Our other neighbor’s boyfriend has threatened us with physical violence and left threatening notes on our door. This also resulted in us calling the police and the complex and security. And yeah, he’s left us alone mostly since then, but I still don’t feel comfortable living next to him. Our maintenance people are garbage and one threatened to fine me when I called because our AC broke in the middle of summer. So basically we just keep to ourselves, we don’t talk to anyone, and we’re just patiently waiting until our lease is up.

So to recap: It doesn’t make sense for us to stay here. It doesn’t make sense for us to rent another apartment for more money and possibly the same issues. We cannot afford to buy a house. We cannot afford to rent a house. I don’t know what we’re going to do.

Log in to write a note
kat
December 28, 2021

what area do you live in? housing is a little more reasonable here in Indiana

January 16, 2022

@kaliko Scottsdale.

kat
January 16, 2022

@vulnerableme not sure where that is..

December 30, 2021

I have hope that you’ll be able to find something, maybe not in the same area as your parents, but perhaps within travelling distance.  The rent prices here in the Fresno valley have also gone ballistic.  I can hardly wait to get out of California.

Is there any way you can move in with your parents to save up money for a house?  Just a thought.

 

 

January 16, 2022

@novembercirese We lived with my parents after we got married for a few months. Its honestly annoying. It doesn’t feel like our house and we have no where to go and my parents are all up in our business. With a baby, my mom will definitely try to take over parenting and I don’t want that.

January 16, 2022

@vulnerableme I can understand that, for sure.  I moved in with my mom and step-dad after my divorce and it was either her way, or no way.  So I get it.