Advice

Chrysa made a good argument to me today:

I was engaging in my daily negative self-talk while folding the laundry and cleaning the toilet, and Chrysa says “you’re are not a bad person, what about X?”.

To which I respond, predictably, with “Well yeah, but you have to say that, you’re my friend.”

And she replies, “Right, we’re your friends for a reason. We chose to be your friend, it wasn’t assigned to us, we didn’t pull the short straw in a lottery. Your friends stick with you, through good and bad, because you’re someone they want in their lives. When they say good things about you, it’s because those are the things they admire about you, and they want you to know it.”

I thought I’d share that bit of wisdom today, in case anyone else needed to hear it.

Log in to write a note
May 22, 2019

This is very lovely, and true!!!