Working back into it

How often am I supposed to write here, I wonder?

I look back at my old activity, some ten years or so, and I was posting several times a week, sometimes several times a day.  Now, I’m having a difficult time getting back into the groove.

I blame Facebook in large part.  Most of the friends I made here have moved there and can keep up on my life – what little there is of it – much more conveniently at that location.

Which is fine, since this is not social media in the way Facebook and Twitter are; this is my diary, here for me, and anyone else who stumbles upon it gets to look into my head without me having to worry about what everyone will think.  You don’t like what I have to say here?  Don’t read it – it’s not for you.

At least, not primarily.

What this space is really good for is rambling.  Stream of thought writing that serves no purpose other than to let me write, to let me talk out my thoughts without the annoyance of curating them for my friends list.

It helps that very few of the people I know in real life are even aware of this diary, much less ever likely to see it.

I made some of my deepest online friendships through this medium, though.  Funny, how so few of them stuck around after we left.  To be fair, though, I’m guilty of the same.  There was something about this place, about the nature of this community, that simply didn’t translate well to Facebook.

I miss a lot of those people.  Maybe I can rekindle a few of those friendships here and make some new to fill the gap.

Or maybe not.

Time, and motivation, I suppose, will tell.

 

Log in to write a note
February 6, 2019

Write here as often as you like. I just had about a 4 1/2 month lack of entries. I was going through major life issues, my health was ok, except mentally, lol. In any case ,I came back and I am going to try to write, at least every couple of days, and sometimes more, or sometimes less, but, don’t want to take months off at a time.

~W
February 6, 2019

@butterfly4him I find that I’m enjoying being back, and the act of writing here helps my mood, so I may try to do it as often as I can.  If not write, then at least answer notes.

February 6, 2019

I write here when good manners check me from posting unacceptably real and personal tl:dr type dialogues on social media or upon my innocent real life friends. It’s my confessional too. Priceless to me.

~W
February 6, 2019

@e3 I absolutely agree, this place feels more personal and safer than other social media platforms.

February 6, 2019

Thought I’d share my thoughts on being here…I was on OD from Nov. 1998 I think until it ended.  What I miss here is finding friends who live in our areas and/or people our ages.  I met local people who are still my friends and acquaintances whom I’d have never known.  I traveled to Europe and met OD writers…quite a few times, to Canada, ditto…etc.  Not a chance to do that here on the new version.  I find my friends exist for the most part on Prosebox now.  But the tone and spirit of what OD was when it began in our lives are simply not to be found.